Core index to articles in psychology.
Indexes journals in medicine, psychology, psychiatry and neuroscience.
ProQuest Social Sciences
Is your topic interdisciplinary? This searches core indexes in the social sciences such as sociology, political science, and education in addition to psychology.
Academic Search Complete
Another interdisciplinary database, but strong in psychology and its related fields.
Contains the DSM-IV-TR (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) and several full-text psychiatry journals and e-books.
Web of Science
Includes the Science and Social Sciences Citation Index. These let you find "forward citations" -- update your research by finding articles that cite an article.
UC eLinks and Citation Linker
Sometimes the database you search doesn't link to the fulltext -- it only gives the citation. Click the button to see if Berkeley has it online, and if not, it will check for a print version. And if we don't have it at all, it lets you request it through Interlibrary Loan.
What if there isn't a button??? Sometimes you find an article in a bibliography, a book or a footnote -- and you want to see if we have it. The Citation Linker searches through our online databases to see if it's available fulltext. If not, it sets up a search for the paper journal in Melvyl. And if we don't have it at Berkeley, it lets you request it through Interlibrary Loan.
Find Dissertations by searching Dissertations and Theses (Dissertation Abstracts) Full Text, which indexes graduate dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities from 1861 to the present. Dissertations published since 1980 include brief abstracts written by the authors and some feature 24-page excerpts. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and some full text coverage for older graduate works.Also see Find Dissertations and Theses for other specialized sources.
Dissertations completed at UC Berkeley can be found in OskiCat, using the feature allowing you to limit to dissertations/theses.Older dissertations not available full text may be obtained through Interlibrary Loan or using the "Request" option in Melvyl.
Do you need funding for you research, your dissertation or thesis? Check out our page of funding resources for graduate students in the social sciences.
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Annual Reviews in Psychology
- Handbook of Psychology
- Corsini Enclyclopedia of Psychology
- Dictionary of Psychology from Oxford Reference Online
- DSM-IV-TR (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders)
- Encyclopedia of the Sciences of Learning (Educational Psychology)
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences provides scholarly overviews on various topics in psychology.
- Annual Reviews in Psychology and Annual Reviews in Clinical Psychology are good starting places -- they provide literature reviews of important and emerging areas of research.
- Handbook of Social Psychology and Handbook of Adolescent Psychology
Writing and Research Guides
- Effective Writing in Psychology: Papers, Posters, and Presentations, 2nd Edition.
- APA Handbook of Research Methods in Psychology
Vol. 1: Foundations, planning, measures and psychometrics
Vol. 2: Research designs: quantitative, qualitative, neuropsychological and biological
Vol. 3: Data analysis and research publication
- Sage Handbooks of Qualitative and Quantitative Research in Psychology
APA e-book collection Current e-books published by the American Psychological Association from 2009 to date.
ebrary Berkeley's largest e-book collection, with thousands of titles on a wide range of subjects, including social work, education and psychology. Some advanced ebrary features require downloading reader software.
Wiley Online Library Ebook Collection Fulltext books in social welfare and psychology from 2011.
MIT CogNet E-books in cognitive and brain sciences published by MIT.
UCB: Use OskiCat to find books related to your topic at UC Berkeley. Oskicat will show you where it's located, and will also show you the Library of Congress Subject Heading -- which can help you find material other relevant books.
UC: Not enough books at Berkeley? Use Melvyl to find more books at other campuses in the UC system. Clickon the REQUEST button (in the detailed view of a catalog record) to request the item through Interlibrary Loan.
Google Books: Library catalogs don't search inside of books. Google Books can help you identify the book you need, then click on "Find in a Library" to see if we have it.