Books & Texts
The Library's rich collection of print books covers all aspects of philosophy studied at UC Berkeley. A growing number of titles are available as digital books.
- Print books and individually cataloged electronic books can be found in the Library catalogs OskiCat and Melvyl. Catalog records for print books will show the library location and call number. Links in the catalog records for digital books will take you to the full text.
- Collections of philosophy e-books and texts can be browsed from the collection's website. See the listing below or in Philosophy: Books and Text Collections or the complete list for all subjects at Book and Text Collections (electronic).
E-Book Collections for Philosophy:
Past Masters (Philosophy)
Full texts of classic scholarly editions of the works of major philosophers.
Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker
Provides electronic access to 133 volumes in the Bibliogthek Deutscher Klassiker, the premier collection of literary and non-literary German writing.
Corpus des oeuvres de philosophie en langue francaise
Contains the works of philosophers writing in the French language from the Renaissance to 1966.
Oxford Scholarship Online
Oxford University Press Books. Choose Philosophy under Subject Homepages.
Oxford Handbooks Online - Philosophy
MIT Press publications.
UC Press E-Books Collection (eScholarship Editions)
Click on Subject tag, then Philosophy.
Features 48,300 pages of content by such major theorists as Jean Baudrillard, Ulrich Beck, Howard Becker, Nancy Chodorow, Emile Durkheim, Norbert Elias, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Erving Goffman, Karl Marx, Robert Merton, and Talcott Parsons, Mary Wollstonecraft and others.
A database of more than 37,000 complete e-books covering 16 key subject areas including: business and economics, computers and IT, literature and linguistics, history, political science, and more. Note : for instructions on how to install the ebrary reader see Getting started with ebrary.
Springer Electronic Book Package
Humanities E-Book Project (formerly History E-Books Project)
Access to the full-text of important and frequently-cited books in humanties.
This cooperative system contains millions of books scanned from UC and other major research libraries, including those digitized by Google and the Internet Archive. Full text is available for items that are not protected by copyright.
Last Update: 29 Aug 17:09