The Library has many online English and foreign language dictionaries. Search the Electronic Resource Finder by Type: Dictionaries, Thesauri and Quotations or the relevant subject guides for more complete lists. Below is a selective list.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language. Entries contain detailed etymological analyses that trace word development through time and are illustrated by quotations from a wide range of English-language sources.
Includes Webster's Third New International Dictionary, Unabridged (1961) and subsequent updates.
Le Grand Robert electronique
Based on the 12th edition of Le Grand Robert de la langue francaise (2001), it is the most complete French dictionary.
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online (OLDO)
Bilingual dictionaries (English plus French, German, Italian and Spanish) published by Oxford University Press. Online versions of the following titles: Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary, Oxford-Duden German Dictionary, Oxford-Paravia Italian Dictionary, Oxford Spanish Dictionary.
Archival print copies of UC Berkeley dissertations written before 2010 are shelved at NRLF and are available for use in the Library. Dissertations written since 2010 are available in digital format only. Search for Berkeley dissertations in OskiCat by author, title or department. The full-text of Berkeley dissertations written since 1996 is available in the databases listed below.
Dissertations and Theses (Dissertation Abstracts)
Indexes graduate dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities. Dissertations published since 1980, and master's theses since 1988, include brief abstracts written by the authors. UC dissertations since 1996 are free for downloading. Other titles can be borrowed through interlibrary loan or purchased online in a variety of formats.
In addition to those in the print reference collection in the Doe Reference Center, the Library has many online philosophy dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Includes the entire content of the 10-volume Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Includes links to web resources
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A dynamic reference work in which each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field.
Oxford Handbooks Online - Philosophy
A collection of several Oxford Handbooks covering topics such as: Aesthetics, Bioethics, Metaphysics, Philosophy and Literature, Rationality and more.
Oxford Reference Online - Religion
Access to 12 reference sources published by Oxford University Press. Search all sources collectively or search within an individual title.
Oxford Reference Online - Classical Studies
Access to five dictionaries published by Oxford University Press on the topic of classical literature and civilization. Search sources collectively or search within an individual title.
Use these resources to find reviews of philosophy books.
Includes book reviews beginning in 1970. In Advanced Search, type "book review" in a search box and choose "Publication Type" from the drop down menu.
IBR Online - Internationale Bibliographie der Rezensionen
1985-present. German and English search interfaces.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (Web of Knowledge)
1975-present. Choose "Document Type" from one of the drop down menus, then choose "Book Review" from the list of options.
Periodicals Index Online (formerly PCI)