Canadian Studies

Research Tools for Canadian Studies

Search the catalogs

Archival Collections and Primary Sources

Use these web sites, print reference sources, or library databases to find primary sources, such as manuscripts, diaries, letters, firsthand accounts, or historical documents on a subject, person, event or issue. See also the library guide Finding Primary Sources and List of Archival Collections on the Berkeley campus.

*Blue asterisk indicates that the resource was recently added to the guide.

Online

Library Databases

The complete list of databases is available through the Library's Electronic Resource Finder.

  • Ad*Access Project
    Images and information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II, providing a view of a number of major campaigns and companies through images preserved in one particular advertising collection available at Duke University.
  • David Rumsey Map Collection
    Contains to date over 8,000 maps online and focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North and South America cartographic history materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia and Africa are also represented. [Note: This collection is also part of the UC Image Service and can be viewed in two ways: the Insight Browser allows users to view the collection using a web browser; the Luna Insight software provides greater functionality but must be downloaded.]
  • European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
    Contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
  • Gerritsen Collection, Women's History Online, 1543-1945
    Indexes over 4700 publications including books, pamphlets, and periodicals in 15 languages from Europe, US, UK, Canada and New Zealand that reflect the revolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights.
  • Periodicals Index Online (formerly PCI)
    Indexes millions of articles published in over 4,700 periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. A sister database, Periodicals Archive Online, provides a full-text archive of some 475 journals published between 1802 and 1995.
  • Visual Collections: Images of Art, History and Culture
    Includes more than 30,000 images from some 35 image collections from museums, universities and private collections throughout the world in the areas of cartography, fine arts, architecture, and photography. Some of the collections included are free and open to the public; others are restricted to educational use only or on a subscription basis only. Among the collections included are: USF Rare Map Collection, MOAC (Museums and Online Archive of California), Japanese Historical Maps Catena Historic Gardens and Landscapes Archive and many more. [Note: This collection can be viewed in two ways: the Insight Browser allows users to view the collection using a web browser; the Luna Insight software provides greater functionality but must be downloaded.]

Article Indexes and Databases

Listed below is a broad selection of article indexes recommended for research in Canadian Studies. For additional resources, please consult the Library's Electronic Resource Finder.

Online 

Library Databases

  • America: History and Life
    Indexes over 2,000 journals published worldwide on the history of the US and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes all key English-language historical journals; selected historical journals from major countries, state, and local history journals; and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities.
  • Arts and Humanities Citation Index (Web of Knowledge)
    Indexes over 1,000 of the leading arts and humanities journals, and provides searching of footnoted citations.
  • CPI.Q (Canadian Periodicals)
    A comprehensive list of Canadian and international journals, magazines, selected sections of the Globe and Mail, Canadian biographies, and other reference content from Gale, all with a Canadian focus.
  • Cairn
    Offers the most comprehensive collection of French and Belgian journals in the humanities and social sciences available online. UC Berkeley subscribes to the "Bouquet Sciences sociales" which includes the full text of more than 167 peer-reviewed academic journals. It also provides citations and archival access to more than 60 open access scholarly journals. For many of the OA titles, the current issues (generally the most recent 3 years) of the journals are not yet available.
  • CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
    Indexes journals, books, policy briefs, working papers, and conference proceedings from research institutes worldwide related to international affairs analysis and advocacy materials. Also includes links to international affairs Internet sources.
  • Elsevier Geography
    Indexes over 2000 journals, monographs, books, conference proceedings, and theses covering the international literature in physical and human geography, as well as international development issues. Platform change: this database recently changed to the Ovid platform.
  • Ethnic News Watch
    Indexes over 200 ethnic, minority, and native press publications. Contains news, culture, and history searchable in both English and Spanish. Also includes a retrospective backfile of titles (1960-1989).
  • Film Index International
    Indexes almost 100,000 international feature films and shorts, Hollywood entertainment shorts, documentaries, and television movies from all over the world. Includes references to critical and industry articles on films, articles on personalities from approximately 260 international film/TV journals, information about film awards and prizes, and searchable plot summaries with cast and crew lists. This database is produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute.
  • FRANCIS
    Indexes over 3,000 journals, books, dissertations, and other American and European sources covering the humanities, social sciences, and economics. Produced by the Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique, most records are in French, with about 33% in English.
  • Historical Abstracts
    Indexes over 2,000 journals, as well as historical book reviews and dissertations, published worldwide about all aspects of world history (excluding US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles covered were written from 1954 to the present.
  • Humanities International Complete
    Indexes thousands of journals, books and other published sources from around the world, with full text of over 770 journals.
  • Literature Resource Center (LRC)
    Indexes biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers by providing access to content of numerous print counterparts including Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography.
  • MLA International Bibliography
    Indexes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials supporting critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Sponsored by the Modern Language Association.
  • Periodicals Index Online (formerly PCI)
    Indexes millions of articles published in over 4,700 periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. A sister database, Periodicals Archive Online, provides a full-text archive of some 475 journals published between 1802 and 1995.
  • PAIS International
    Indexes books, journals, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide. Includes publications from over 120 countries. Some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The Archive covers English-language material only. (Search all CSA/Illumina Social Sciences databases.)

Bibliographies and Subject Guides

Selected lists of materials in any format organized around a common theme or topic.

Library Databases

Online Resources

Print Resources


Bibliography of Canadian Bibliographies / editor and compiler, Ernie Ingles; principal... 3rd ed., updated, rev. and enlarged. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1994. Doe Refe F1008.A12.I64 1994 Read at Google Read at Google


Bibliotheca Americana : a dictionary of books relating to America, from its discovery to the present time. ACLS Humanities E-Book. Restricted to UCB IP addresses.


Canadian Fantasy and Science-Fiction Writers / edited by Douglas Ivison. Detroit: Gale Group, c2002. Dictionary of literary biography ; v. 251 Doe Refe PS129.D5 v.251 Read at Google Read at Google


Canadian History: A Reader's Guide. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, c1994. Main Stacks F1026.A12.C36 1994 v.1-2 Read at Google Read at Google


Canadian Reference Sources: An annotated Bibliography: General Reference Works, History, Humanities = Ouvrages de réferénce canadiens: une bibliographie annotée: ouvrages de référence généraux, histoire, science humaines / Mary E. Bond, compiler and editor; Martine M. Caron, co-compiler. Vancouver, BC: UBC Press, c1996. Doe Refe F1008.A12.B66 1996 Read at Google Read at Google


Canadian Writers, 1890-1920 / edited by W.H. New. Detroit: Gale Research, c1990. Dictionary of literary biography ; v. 92 Doe Refe PS129.D5 v.92 Moffitt PS129.D5 v.92 Read at Google Read at Google


Canadian Writers Before 1890 / edited by W.H. New. Detroit: Gale Research, c1990. Dictionary of literary biography ; v. 99 Doe Refe PS129.D5 v.99 Moffitt PS129.D5 v.99 Read at Google Read at Google


History of Literature in Canada: English-Canadian and French-Canadian / edited by Reingard M. Nischik. Rochester, N.Y: Camden House, 2008. Main Stacks PR9184.3 .H56 2008 Read at Google Read at Google


The Oxford Companion to Canadian History / edited by Gerald Hallowell. Don Mills, Ontario: Oxford University Press, 2004. Doe Refe F1026.O93 2004 Online via Oxford Reference Read at Google Read at Google


The Oxford Companion to Canadian Literature / edited by Eugene Benson and William Toye / 2nd ed [Oxford]: Oxford University Press, 1997. Doe Refe PR9180.2.O94 1997 Online via Oxford Reference Read at Google Read at Google


The Oxford Companion to Canadian Theatre / edited by Eugene Benson and L.W. Conolly. Toronto; New York: Oxford University Press, 1989. Doe Refe PN2300.O94 1989 Read at Google Read at Google


Quebec National Cinema / Bill Marshall. Montreal: McGill-Queen's University Press, 2001. Main Stacks PN1993.5.C2 M27 2001 Online via ebrary Read at Google Read at Google


Writing in Our Time: Canada's Radical Poetries in English (1957-2003) / Pauline Butling. Waterloo, Ontario: Wilfrid Laurier University Press, 2l005. Main Stacks PR9190.5 .B88 2005 Online via ebrary Read at Google Read at Google

Book Reviews

Listings of book and film reviews in journals, magazines, newspapers, etc. included in article databases and indexes, book review indexes, or review journals.

Library Databases

  • Book Review Digest Plus
    Indexes book reviews of English-language fiction and nonfiction books for children and adults, from over 8000 leading magazines from the United States, Canada, and Great Britain. Includes several thousand full text reviews. For book reviews published from 1905 to 1982 go to Book Review Digest Retrospective which can be searched separately or simultaneously.
  • Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1905-1982
    Some 1.5 million reviews of more than 300,000 books. For access to book reviews written since 1983, search Book Review Digest Plus which can be searched separately or simultaneously.
  • Book Review Index
    More than 5 million citations to book reviews from thousands of publications.
  • Google Scholar
    Lists journal articles, books, book reviews, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Some listings include links to related articles and to other sources that cite the item. Includes content from free resources (such as ArXiv.org and university websites) as well as subscription resources (such as electronic journals from selected publishers). Use the UC-eLinks option, when available, to find the UCB access to a publication.
  • Historical Abstracts
    Indexes over 2,000 journals, as well as historical book reviews and dissertations, published worldwide about all aspects of world history (excluding US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles covered were written from 1954 to the present
  • MLA International Bibliography
    Indexes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials supporting critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Sponsored by the Modern Language Association.
  • Periodicals Index Online (formerly PCI)
    Indexes millions of articles published in over 4,700 periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.

Dissertations and Theses

Find dissertations by searching Proquest Dissertations and Theses (PQDT), which indexes graduate dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities from 1861 to the present. Dissertations published since 1980 include brief abstracts written by the authors and some feature 24-page excerpts. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and some full text coverage for older graduate works.

Also see Find Dissertations and Theses for other specialized sources. Dissertations completed at UC Berkeley can be found in OskiCat, using the feature allowing you to limit to dissertations/theses:

Dissertations/Theses in Oskicat

Older dissertations not available full text may be obtained through Interlibrary Loan or using the "Request" option in Melvyl.

For more extensive indexing of doctoral dissertations and theses from Western Europe, here are a few other resources to consult:

News Databases, Indexes and Web Sites

Listings (may include abstracts or full text) of articles in newspapers, newsmagazines, broadcast news transcripts or wire services. Also includes web sites of these media, or directories of such sites.

Online

Library Databases

  • ABYZ News Links
    A portal to online news sources from around the world. The database is primarily composed of links to online newspapers, but also includes many broadcast stations, internet services, magazines, and press agencies. ABYZ News Links does not contain actual news content but only links to other news sources.
  • Access World News
    Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources.
  • American Journalism Review News Link
    Links to more than 3,400 U.S. newspapers and 2,000 foreign newspapers. U.S. and Canadian newspapers are cross-indexed by category, state and province.
  • Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog
    CRL acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources from a global network of sources. UC Berkeley Library students, faculty, and other researchers have liberal access to these rich source materials through interlibrary loan, electronic delivery, and a growing collection of digitized material.
  • Ethnic News Watch
    Indexes over 200 ethnic, minority, and native press publications. Contains news, culture, and history searchable in both English and Spanish. Also includes a retrospective backfile of titles (1960-1989).
  • Factiva
    Provides general and business news and information from more than 9,000 sources in 22 languages, including influential local, national and international newspapers, leading business magazines, trade publications, and news wires.
  • Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Electronic Index
    Indexes the FBIS Daily Reports issued by the US Government covering political, economic, scientific, and cultural issues and events throughout the world. Translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from various nations are the sources of this information. Reports since 1996 can be found in WorldNews Connection.
  • French Language News and Newspapers
    A list of freely available French-language newspapers and news magazines. Compiled by the MIT Libraries.
  • iCON Newspaper Database
    A database of more than 20,000 newspaper titles from over 150 countries dating back over 350 years. A useful source for identifying the titles of newspapers from a region during a given time period. (The source does not link to full text.)
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Includes over 6,000 individual titles of international, national and local newspapers and wire services; radio and television transcripts; and business, medical, industry, and legislative magazines, journals, and newsletters.
  • OnlineNewspapers.com
    Links to the online editions of over 10,000 newspapers -- international in scope.

Canadian Libraries and Catalogs

Listings of books and other items belonging to a particular library or, as with union catalogs, a group of libraries, and usually containing information on the location and subject classification of each item. This category also includes national bibliographies, or lists of all books published in a particular country.

Online Resources

Library Databases

  • Archive Finder (including ArchivesUSA and NIDS UK/Ireland)
    Directory which describes over 206,200 collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland.
  • ArchiveGrid
    Searchable descriptions of nearly a million historical documents, personal papers, and family histories kept in libraries, museums, and archives worldwide.
  • Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog
    CRL acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources from a global network of sources. UC Berkeley Library students, faculty, and other researchers have liberal access to these rich source materials through interlibrary loan, electronic delivery, and a growing collection of digitized material.
  • Europeana
    Europeana the European digital library direct access to more than 15 million digital objects, including film material, photos, paintings, sounds, maps, manuscripts, books, newspapers and archival papers.
  • Index Translationum
    Lists more than a million books in translation in over 400 languages of UNESCO Member States, on all subjects, published since 1979.
  • Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
    Lists 250,000 serials published worldwide covering all subjects.
  • WorldCat on FirstSearch
    Combined catalog of over 1.5 billion books, journals, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, and other items in thousands of libraries worldwide. This is the original, subscription version of WorldCat - the world's largest network of library content and services. Also freely available at WorldCat.org or through Melvyl.
Last Update: 16 Sep 17:29 | Tagged with: Canada Canadian Studies Francophone Canada Québec