See specific subject pages for the best listing of indexes.
Indexes over 3,000 journals, books, dissertations, and other American and European sources covering the humanities, social sciences, and economics. Produced by the Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique, most records are in French, with about 33% in English.
IBZ - Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur
Indexes over 5600 journals worldwide, specializing in the humanities and the social sciences. [Thanks to the Library's participation in a joint German/American document delivery project called GBV, the Library can obtain copies of IBR articles from German partners in digital form quickly at no additional cost to users via Interlibrary Borrowing Services.]
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)
Over 500,000 citations to journal articles, books, and conference proceedings worldwide on the countries, histories, and cultures of East, South, and Southeast Asia.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials supporting critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Sponsored by the Modern Language Association.
IDZ Index deutschsprachiger Zeitschriften
Indexes over 195 German-language journals, mostly in the humanities and social sciences. Covers the same materials as the print counterpart, Index deutschsprachiger Zeitschriften (index to German periodicals).
ABSEES Online Database
Indexes journal articles, books, dissertations, selected government publications, and online resources published in the US and Canada on East and Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. Covers the more recent years of the print equivalent, American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies.
Bibliografia de la Literatura Espanola Desde 1980
Includes over 80,000 records for books, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, bibliographies, congresses, and other miscellaneous material on subjects including literary theory, literary genres, popular literature, Hispanism, bibliographies and authors.
The Bibliography Articoli italiani di periodici accademici (AIDA) indexes articles from scholarly journals covering the humanities and social sciences. AIDA's coverage exceeds coverage of the Italian academic press by IBZ. Working together with Italian librarians ensures that the journals indexed in AIDA represent the current Italian literature in the humanities.
A comprehensive database covering journals, magazines, newspapers, broadcasts, books and more on all aspects of Africa including politics, history, economics, literature, music and natural sciences. Combines the databases previously known as African Studies and South African Studies.
Contains over 700,000 articles from 120 news publications throughout Africa. Also includes press releases and documents from 200 governments and non-governmental organizations in and outside of Africa. 30% of articles are in French.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)
Indexes monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays, and doctoral dissertations related to English language and literature.
Indexes over 2000 books, journals, dissertations, conference papers, and collections covering all aspects of greco-roman antiquity including literature, language, history, and archaeology. Corresponds to volumes 20 (1949) to 75 (2004), covering the journal and monographic literature of Classics: over 375,000 bibliographic records, plus brief abstracts.
Index to Hebrew Periodicals
Indexes over 300 journals and newsletters covering a variety of subjects with an emphasis on Judaica, literature, education, arts, law and current Israel affairs (politics and society). (In Hebrew)
RAMBI (Index to Articles on Jewish Studies)
Selective bibliography of articles in Jewish Studies and the study of Eretz Israel. Compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)
Indexes books, journals, conference proceedings, and official documents on Hispanic America (North, Central, and South), Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Indexes books, journals and proceedings to create an annual bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars, alternating between focusing on the humanities and the social sciences.
Humanities International Complete
Indexes thousands of journals, books and other published sources from around the world, with full text of over 770 journals. Includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records). Subjects covered include archaeology, literature, religion, art, dance, theater, folklore, history, African-American studies, law, women's studies, and more.
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.
Bibliography of Comparative Literature. Fernand Baldensperger and Werner P. Friederich. Chapel Hill, Univ. of North Carolina Press, 1950.
NRLF PN 871 .A12 .B3
International but with a decided emphasis on Western scholarship. The 1960 reprint, not held by UCB, has a revision of the Scandinavian section.
Yearbook of Comparative and General Literature. v. 1, 1952-
Main Stack PN 853 .Y4
Volumes 1-19 contain an Annual Bibliography meant to supplement Baldensperger.
Index Translationum; World Bibliography of Translation.
Main Stack Z 1007 .I55, published 1932-1992. The last published volume covers 1986.
Now onlineonly: http://www.unesco.org/culture/xtrans/
Covers translations registered after 1978. Taken together, the print and online constitute a list of books translated in the world, an international bibliography of translations.
La littérature comparée. Louis Paul Betz. Essai bibliographique. Introduction par Joseph Texte. 2.ed. augm. Strasbourg, K.J. Trubner, 1904.
NRLF PN 871 .A12 .B4 1904
Bibliography of books and periodicals on comparative literature from medieval times through the 19th Century
Year’s Work in Modern Language Studies. London: Modern Humanities Research Association. 1929/30-
Main Stack PB 1 .M62; Most recent 10 v. in Doe Reference
Recent volumes have sections on Latin, Romance, Germanic, and Slavonic literatures. Scholars in the field survey the year’s scholarship on language and literature. e-version 1930-1994