African American Studies

Giving to the Library

African American Studies collections at UC Berkeley are one of the strongest in the nation. The collection supports research throughout the campus including the Africana Ph.D. program in the Department of African American Studies.  Your help will insure this fine collection continues to grow and support African American Studies at Berkeley.

The following types of gifts are available:

Cash Gifts for Book Purchases
Cash contributions of any amount are welcomed as they will support the purchase of new books supporting the African American Studies.

Book Donations 
Gifts of scholarly materials and the results of research have historically represented a significant element in the development of Berkeley's outstanding research collections. We welcome individual gifts, but due to space and staff limitations, we must be judicious in accepting large contributions. Donations of recently published books are welcomed. New book purchases will be checked to ensure titles aren’t already on order.

Please contact Dirk Kennedy to discuss your donation of books.

Memorial and Honorific Gifts
Contributions given in memory or in honor of a person are welcomed. For a gift of $1,000 or more, a named memorial book fund can be established. A special book plate will be created and placed in each book.

Named Endowment
An endowed fund is established in perpetuity and has a continuing impact on creating a strong African American Studies collection. A named endowment requires a minimum gift of $50,000. The donor may specify an area of interest, e.g., African American history, Black Arts Movement, etc. The University invests its endowments carefully to achieve a healthy rate of return that provides for both current needs and long-term growth. A special book plate will be placed in each book.

Contribute Online
Donations can be made online using the Library Fund Online Gift Form and by designating that your gift is for the African American Studies Collection at the bottom of the form.

Contribue By Mail
All checks should be made payable to the UC Regents (specify it is for the African American Studies Collection) and mailed to:

Jason Schultz
Librarian for Africana Collections

438 Doe Library
University of California
Berkeley, CA 94720-6000

Last Update: 15 Aug 15:15 | Tagged with: African American Studies African Studies Africana