African American historical and current newspapers are also available electronically through subscription databases from UC Berkeley. More are available through general U.S. current and historical newspaper databases.
- Chicago Defender (Historical Newspapers, 1910-1975)
- Ethnic Newswatch (1960-current)
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers
The Library's Newspaper & Microforms Room holds a number of primary source African American newspapers from throughout the U.S. Papers on microfilm are shelved in title order by state. Currently received print titles are shelved by title. Some titles are also available in the Bancroft Library. See selected titles in the UC Berkeley collection below. Click on newspaper titles below to link to its OskiCat record.
The California Voice (Oakland, 1920-1998) Location: News/Micro NEWSFILM-1 (separate issues)
Flatlands (Oakland, 1966-67) Location: News/Micro MICROFILM 78777, Bancroft BANC NMP 6764:2:3
The Oakland Post (1963- )Location: News/Micro NEWSPRINT-1
The Sacramento Observer (Sacramento, 1962- ) Location: News/Micro NEWSFILM-1
The Sun-Reporter (San Francisco, 1943- )Location: News/Micro NEWSFILM-1
The Peninsula Bulletin (East Palo Alto, 1967-1979) Location: News/Micro NEWSFILM-1
Los Angeles Tribune (Los Angeles, 1941-1960) Location: library only has selected issues, mainly from 1947-1952 in News/Micro NEWSFILM-1
The California Eagle (Los Angeles, 1897-1966) Location: library has 1913-1930, 1944-53 in News/Micro NEWSFILM-1
Atlanta Daily World (Atlanta, GA 1932- ) Location: News/Micro NEWSFILM-1, library lack some issues
Baltimore Afro American (Baltimore, MD 1915-1987) Location: NRLF, library lacks some issues, issues for 1892-1898 in 19th U.S. Newspapers database.
Journal and Guide (Norfolk, VA 1901-1975) Location: NRLF, library lack some issues.
The Michigan Chronicle (Detroit, MI 1936- )Location: News/Micro NEWSFILM-1 (1943-1974)
Pittsburgh Courier (Pittsburgh, PA, 1923-1950, 1951-2002) Location: News/Micro NEWSFILM-1, library lacks some issues
Richmond Afro American (Richmond, VA, 1938-68) Location: NRLF, Library lacks same issues
The Stanford Library has one of the largest collection of newspapers in print and mircofilm in the United States. They are available for on-site viewing by UCB afilliated persons.The Center for Research Libraries lends newspapers on microfilm to UCB patrons. Many titles are listed on the Melvyl Catalog where you can request film by sent to UCB for use.
The Media Resources Center (MRC) at Moffitt Library is the UC Berkeley Library's primary collection of materials in electronic non-print (audio and visual) formats. These formats include: videocassettes, DVDs; compact audio discs; audiocassettes; and online (streamed) audio and video. Materials in the MRC collection may be used on-site in the Center by current UC Berkeley students and staff. Links to selected African American cinema and documentary films at the MRC below:
The UC Berkeley Libraries has extensive microform (microfilm and microfiche) collections, containing valuable information for researchers. The following lists of African American microform holdings include much primary source material.
- African American Studies Microform Collections
- Caribbean Microform Collections
- Guide to NAACP Microfilm Collection
The Newspapers and Microforms Room(40 Doe Library) has machines that read, print, and scan images from microfilm and microfiche.
Microfilm and microfiche owned by the UC Berkeley Libraries can be found through OskiCat; use Advanced Keyword Search to limit your search to "All Microforms." In the News/Micro collection, microfilm rolls and microfiche cards are shelved with their own numbering system; click here for a PDF of the collection's floorplan.