Theater and Performing Arts

Organizations

Subject-related associations, learned societies, or professional organizations.

All About Jewish Theatre   Much information in the searchable Resources page.

American Alliance for Theatre and Education

American Society for Theatre Research

American Theatre and Drama Society

Association for Theatre in Higher Education

Australasian Drama, Theatre and Performance Studies Association

Circostrada Network: Street Arts and Circus Arts, European Platform for Information, Research and Professional Exchange.  News, research, guides and many links, including one to the organization's  European Circus Arts Bibliography

Circus Historical Society   Circus in the United States from the first one, Philadelphia, 1793, to today. Many links, useful bibliographies, photos. 

Costume Society of America

Educational Theatre Association

International Federation for Theatre Research

Interantional Association of Theatre Critics

International Theatre Institute
Founded in 1948 by UNESCO and the international community, the ITI remains UNESCO’s principle partner in performing arts. Links to information about ITI and its constituent members, including to its World Theatre Directory, with information about performing arts in member countries.

Literary Managers and Dramaturgs of the Americas

Society for Theatre Research

Theatre Communications Group

Theatre Library Association   Lots of useful information and links.  Broadside, Newsletter of the Theatre Library Association is now available online from 1973 to the current issue.

UNIMA  Union International de la Marionnette

United States Institute for Theatre Technology

Gateways

American Theatre Web
News, reviews, online chat, information about grants, productions and theaters.

American Variety Stage: Vaudeville and Popular Entertainment, 1870-1920
Developed as part of the Library of Congress's American Memory Project, this site presents various items from LC's extensive holdings, including English and Yiddish scripts, playbills and programs, sound recordings, silent films, and a special section on Harry Houdini. The site can be searched or browsed.  

Artslynx International Arts Resources: Theatre Resources

Bata Shoe Museum
The Museum, located in Toronto, has over 10,000 pairs of shoes from all over the world.

Bibliography of Performing Arts in the East in Western Languages by  Alex Hadary.  Historial and current materials on the performing arts in Asia. 

Bissonnette on Costume: A Visual Dictionary of Fashion
Anne Bissonnette, Kent State University Museum, has created this site, which can be searched by location, century (18th-20th) or subject.

British Theatre Guide
Original articles about British theater, list of links and news.

CESAR 
A freely available resource for French theater of the Ancien Régime and Revolution eras.

Costume Page: Costuming Resources Online
Links to the study of costume, making and wearing them, suppliers

Costume Ring
The Ring consists of numerous websites dedicated to various aspects of costume.

Costume Site
“Online costuming sources for historical, science fiction & fantasy costumers”

The Costumer's Manifesto
Created by Tara Maginnis of the Univ. of Alaska, Fairbanks almost ten years ago. Its over 800 pages range from Accessories to Wings. Among the many delights are a section of Western costume history by period. 

The Development of Scenic Spectacle: A Site Devoted to the Study of  Renaissance and Baroque Theatrical Spectacle
This site, developed by Frank Mohler, emeritus professor at Appalachian State University, contains animated virtual models, links to archives and published sources containing information about 16th-17th century theatrical machinery, a bibliography, links to articles, and links to other sites.  Learn about flying machines or traps & elevators.

Didaskalia: Ancient Theatre Today
This site is an "English-language publication about Greek and Roman drama, dance, and music as they are performed today." The site contains a journal; listings of performances, conferences, events and other news; and a study area.     

Digital Librarian: Performing Arts
Librarian Margaret Vail Anderson sifts through the web and chooses the best sites. Includes links to many theater and performing arts sites from the United States and around the world. Very useful selection of sites.

Dollee.com
This website's aim is to list every play written or produced in English since 1956.

Early Twentieth-Century Russian Drama
Information about the theater of Stanislavsky and Meyerhold, Chekhov, Mayakovsky and Bulgakov, Malevich and Tatlin, Stravinsky and Shostakovich.

European Theatre Convention
Website of an association representing thirty-six theater companies from twenty-one countries

Greater Bay Area Costumer's Guild
Many links to resources and activities. Especially useful are the links to online exhibits.

Internet Broadway Database
Created by the research department of the League of American Theatres and Producers, IBDB is the official database for Broadway theater information from the earliest days to current shows. Can do basic or advanced searches.  Extensive links lead from actor to biographical information to productions, theaters, and dates of productions. Useful resource for research on Broadway productions.

Irish Playography
Developed by the Irish Theatre Institute, PLAYOGRAPHY Ireland comprises two comprehensive online searchable databases and catalogues: Irish Playography (all new Irish plays produced in English since the formation of the National Theatre in 1904) and Playography na Gaeilge (all new Irish plays produced in Irish since 1901).

League of American Theaters and Producers: the Official Website for Broadway Theatre
The League is the national trade association for Broadway theatrial entertainment. The resources section contains such information as grosses, attendance, directory of 39 Broadway theaters, and a technical directory of national theaters.

London Theatre Guide
All kinds of news about London theater

Lortel Archives, the Internet Off-Broadway Database
Ongoing catalog of many off-Broadway productions, currently containing over 4500 Productions.  The site is complete back to 1958 though includes notable shows from earlier years.  Offers simple and advanced search options.  Under its subtitle, the database is also available at www.iobdb.com

McCoy’s Guide to Internet Resources in Theatre

Make ‘Em Laugh
Funny monologues, recitations and poetry.

Musical Stages Online: the World of Musical Theatre!
Website of Musical Stages Magazine, the site offers news and reviews.

The New Deal Stage: Selections for the Federal Theatre
Project, 1935-1939

A browse-only collection of 13,000 images from the Federal Theatre Project Collection at the Library of Congress.  It includes scripts, stage and costume designs, photographs, posters, and much other information about the FTP.

New York Public Library Best of the Web: Theater

New York Theatre Wire
Reviews and other information for theater, dance, film. Some coverage of international theater and dance.

OffWestEng.com
News, tickets and information about London's smaller theaters.

Performing Arts In America 1875-1923
The New York Public Library for the Performing Arts created this site from its archives; it features over 1600 items about covering music, dance and theatrical productions.  Newspaper clippings, sheet music, sound recordings,film, photographs, posters: the collection consists of many media.

The Playwriting Seminars
Richard Toscan subtitles his site "An Opinionated Web Companion on the Art & Craft of Playwriting."  The seminars focus on the kinds of plays produced at U. S. regional theaters and examines the stuff of plays as well as the craft of playwriting.

Playbill
Chock full of information about tickets, discounted tickets, job listings, current and upcoming productions.

Puppetry Home Page
Lists of organizations, theatres, definition of terms concerned with puppets and puppetry.  Also has links to websites with news about the subject.

Theatre History
Articles discussing the origins of theatre, its significance during ancient and medieval times, and theatre traditions in Asia, Britain, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Russia, the United States and Spain.

Theatre History on the Web
Maintained by Jack Wolcott, retired from the University of Washington School of Drama, this site contains an extensive index of resources designed for theater historians. Periods covered include Classical, Medieval and Renaissance, Elizabethan, and 18th, 19th, and contemporary. Information about non-Western theater, center and libraries, theater resources, costumes, lighting and other technical aspects of theater.

Tony Awards
Website of the American Theatre Wings. Lots of information about the award, nominees and winners. Multimedia interviews with some winners.

University of California San Diego Library Featured Sites for Theater

Voice of Dance.  Useful directory of people and companies along with reviews. 

Voice of the Shuttle: Drama, Theater & Performance Art Studies
Vetted list of Internet resources though many links are broken.

WWW Virtual Library: Theatre and Drama
Index of professional, academic and recreational theatre and drama resources from more than 50 countries, including academic and training institutions, theatre companies, events and festivals and theatre image collections.

 

Last Update: 24 Jul 16:21