MLA International Bibliography
Indexes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials supporting critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Sponsored by the Modern Language Association.
Indexes journal articles, essays, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology as well as ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture. This database combines the resources of Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)
Indexes monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays, and doctoral dissertations related to English language and literature.
Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary index to articles in more than 10,900 journals and other publications in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese; full-text is available for over 5300 journals.
A comprehensive database covering journals, magazines, newspapers, broadcasts, books and more on all aspects of Africa including politics, history, economics, literature, music and natural sciences. Combines the databases previously known as African Studies and South African Studies.
Humanities International Complete
Indexes thousands of journals, books and other published sources from around the world, with full text of many.
Abstracts of Folklore Studies. Austin, etc.: American Folklore Society, 1963-1975.
Anthropology Library GR 30.A2
Lists articles by the journal in which it appeared. Includes subject indexes.
Asian Folklore Studies Comprehensive Index 1942-1991.
Anthropology Library GN 1.F6; All but most recent 5 years on JSTOR.
Several indexes to the first 50 years of Asian Folklore Studies.
Internationale volkskundliche Bibliographie. International Folklore Bibliography. Bibliographie internationale des arts et traditions populaires. Berlin.
Doe Reference GR 30 .V6 1917-1999
Continues Volkskundliche Literature des Jahres 1911.
Especially strong for European ethnology and folklore but international in scope.
Journal of American Folklore Centennial Index 1888-1994.
Anthropology Library GR 1 .J6
JSTOR and Project Muse.
Covers everything published in the journal. Also available through JSTOR (vol. 101, issue no. 402). Has author, title and subject indexing for the first decades of the journal.
This is a representative list; please send suggestions for additions to it. The first two are classics in the attempt to classify folktales.
Aarne, Antti. The Types of the Folk-tale: A Classification and Bibliography. Helsinki, Suomalainen Tiedeakatemia, 1964. 2nd rev.
Main Stack and Doe Reference GR 550 .A2
Classification by tale type of oral narratives from Europe and Western Asia.
Thompson, Stith. Motif-Index of Folk Literature; a Classification of Narrative Elements in Folktales, Ballads, Myths, Fables, Mediaeval Romances, Exempla, Fabliaux, Jest-books and Local Legends. Rev. and enlarged ed. 6 v. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 1989.
Art History/Classics and Doe Reference GR 72 .56 .T48 1989
Classic work of the classification of folk motifs. Also available on web (UCB). The online Guide for Using Stith Thompson may be helpful.
Archetypes and Motifs in Folklore and Literature: A Handbook. Ed. Jane Garry and Hasan El-Shamy. Armonk, N.Y.: Sharpe, 2005. Anthropology and Doe Reference GR72.56. A73 2005. Also available online from ebrary.
Azzolina, David S. Tale Type and Motif Indexes: An Annotated Bibliography. New York: Garland Pub., 1987.
Anthropology, Doe Ref, Moffitt GR 74 .6 .A12 .A981 1987
Baughman, Ernest Warren. Type and Motif-Indexes of the Folktales of England and North America. The Hague, Mouton & Co., 1966.
Anthro Ref and Doe Ref GR 67 .B3
Uther, Hans-Jörg. The Types of International Folktales: A Classification and Bibliography Based on the System of Antti Aarne and Stith Thompson. Helsinki: Suomalainen Tiedeakatemia, Academic Scientarum Fennica, 2004. 3 vols. Anthropology Reference GR72.56.U84 2004
El-Shamy, Hasan M. Types of the Folktale in the Arab World: a Demographically Oriented Tale-Type Index. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 2004.
Anthropology and Doe Ref GR 268 .A73 .E42 2004
Goldberg, Harriet. Motif-Index of Folk Narratives in the Pan-Hispanic Romancero. Tempe : Arizona Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies, 2000.
Main Stack PQ 6091 .G57 2000
Goldberg, Harriet. Motif-Index of Medieval Spanish Folk Narratives. Tempe, AZ: Medieval & Renaissance Texts & Studies, 1998.
Main Stack GR 230 .G57 1998
Covers a corpus of materials not indexed thoroughly by Stith Thompson.
Jauhiainen, Marjatta. The Type and Motif Index of Finnish Belief Legends and Memorates. Helsinki : Academia Scientiarum Fennica, 1998.
Main Stack GR 1 .F53 v.267
Created out of the belief legend and memorate card file of the Finnish Literature Society Folklore Archives as it stood in 1997.
Keller, John Esten. Motif-Index of Mediaeval Spanish Exempla. Knoxville: University of Tennessee Press, 1949. Anthropology GR 67 .K4
Main Stack GR 67 .K4
Wilbert, Johannes and Karin Simoneau. .Folk Literature of South American Indians: General Index. Los Angeles: UCLA Latin American Center Publications, University of California, 1992. Main F2230.1.F56.W56 1992 Cumulative motif index to the volumes of the series Folk Literature of South American Indians
The Yanagita Kunio Guide to the Japanese Folk Tale. Translated and edited by Fanny Hagin Mayer. Bloomington, Ind.: Indiana University Press, 1986.
East Asian Library GR 340 .N52213 1986
Main Stack GR 340 .N52213 1986
Moffitt GR 340 .N52213 1986
Dundes, Alan. Folklore Theses and Dissertations in the United States. Austin : Published for the American Folklore Society by the University of Texas Press, 1976.
Anthropology GR 65 .A12 .D8
NRLF GR 65 .A12 .D8
Music Library Reference GR 65 .A12 .D8
Gillis, Frank. Ethnomusicology and Folk Music: An International Bibliography of Dissertations and Theses. Middletown, Conn : Published for the Society for Ethnomusicology by the Wesleyan University Press, 1966.
Music Library Reference ML 128 .E8 .G5
Kerst, Catherine Hiebert. Ethnic Folklife Dissertations from the United States and Canada, 1960-1980: A Selected Annotated Bibliography. Washington, D.C.: American Folklife Center, Library of Congress, 1986.
Main Stack GR105.A12.K471 1986
Dissertations and Theses (Dissertation Abstracts) Indexes dissertations and theses from over 1000 North American and selected European universities. Entries for dissertations published since 1980 and master's theses published since 1988 have abstracts written by the author.
Dissertations and Theses (University of California) Full text of UC dissertations filed since 1996 and citation for earlier dissertations.