Human Rights Resources

Human Rights Reference Books

The reference books below are a few examples of many items in the reference room on the second floor of Doe library.  To find more, do a keyword search in Oskicat and limit your search in the pull-down menu to "Doe Reference."


Human rights worldwide : a reference handbook Doe Reference. JC571 .K23 2006. Read at Google Read at Google


Human rights in international law : basic texts. Doe Reference. JX4000 .C6321 2007. Read at Google Read at Google


An encyclopedia of human rights in the United State Doe Reference Reference Hall. KF4747.5 .C37 2011. Read at Google Read at Google


Human rights in the twentieth century. Main & Graduate Reserves. JC571 .H769545 2011. Read at Google Read at Google


Texts and materials on international human rights Doe Reference. K3240.S57 2010. Read at Google Read at Google


Encyclopedia of human rights Doe Reference Reference Hall. JC571 .E673 2009. Read at Google Read at Google


The international human rights movement : a history. Moffitt JC571 .N377 2012. Read at Google Read at Google


A dictionary of human rights. Doe Reference. K3239.3.R67 2004. Read at Google Read at Google


A UN high commissioner in defence of human rights. Doe Reference K3241.R36 2005. Read at Google Read at Google


The history of human rights : from ancient times to the globalization era Main (Gardner) Stacks JC571.I73 2004. Read at Google Read at Google

Human Rights Search

HuriSearch.  Custom search engine providing "one point access to all human rights information published by human rights organizations worldwide." From Human Rights Information and Documentation Systems, International.

What Convention? This search engine will help you find your issue or human right in the Human Rights conventions, treaties, etc where it is located.

Human Rights Online Reference

Amnesty International Annual Report.  In addition to the annual report, AI produces other country or topic specific reports. The AI USA  office web site is better organized and offers easy access to older annual reports.

Country Reports on Human Rights Practices.  Annual report on human rights practices worldwide from the United States Department of State. 

Oxford Bibliographies. Great way to deal with information overload: here are lists of good books in the areas of international law and international relations, including human rights.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Human Rights. Human rights theory, practice, law, and history. Includes major figures, organizations, human rights events and crises, and human rights norms.

Human Rights Watch World Report.  Summarizes humen rights conditions from around the world. There are many useful reports available on related topics, e.g. child labor, migration, refugees, etc.

Introduction to the History of International Human Rights Law. Online overview of the history of international human rights law.

Routledge Politics and International Relations Online.  Includes the Encyclopedia of The United Nations and International Agreements the Routledge Encyclopedia of Human Rights.

Last Update: 27 Oct 14:17