Human Rights Resources

General & Subject Databases

The following general databases are a good place to start when looking for human rights journal articles, but more specialized sources are also available: please see the other sections below on legal databases and international and area specific databases.

Academic Search Complete. A general multidisciplinary index to articles for thousands of journals and other publications. Full-text is available for over 5300 journals.

Alternative Press Index. Alternative, radical, and left magazines and journals which report and analyze issues of cultural, economic, political, and social change. Approximately 90% of publications included are not indexed elsewhere: editorials, columns, essays, speeches, interviews, biographies, obituaries, memoirs; and reviews. 

America: History and Life. Indexes over 2,000 journals published worldwide on the history of the US and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes all key English-language historical journals; selected historical journals from major countries, state, and local history journals; and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities.

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online). Journals, books, policy briefs, working papers, and conference proceedings from research institutes worldwide related to international affairs analysis and advocacy. Also includes links to international affairs Internet sources.

Historical Abstracts. Indexes over 2,000 journals, as well as historical book reviews and dissertations, published worldwide about all aspects of world history (excluding US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles covered were written from 1954 to the present

JSTOR. Includes over 1000 scholarly journals with access to more than 2 million articles. JSTOR is an archive which means that current issues (generally the most recent 3-5 years) of the journals are not yet available.

PolicyFile. Index to public policy in the areas of economics, politics, the environment, and social issues, taken from reports from a wide range of think tanks, Non-governmental organizations, international governmental organizations, and other institutions worldwide.

PAIS International. Indexes books, journals, government documents,  grey literature, research reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, and social issues worldwide. Some material published in European Languages. 

Proquest Social Sciences. Interdisciplinary metasearch through 22 of the the social sciences indexes on the ProQuest platform. Includes EconLit, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, PAIS, PsycInfo, Sociological Abstracts, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts and mor

Women's Studies International. Indexes books, journals, magazines, and other resources related to research and commentary on women and women's issues. Includes thousands so research articles relating to human rights women and children.

Web of Science. Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences, providing searching of footnoted citations. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Indexes books, journals, and dissertations within the field of political science and related to international relations, law and politics, political economy, public administration, and public policy. (Search all Proquest Social Sciences databases.)

Legal Databases

For a dazzling glimpse into the complex world of international law and human rights see also the Boalt Law Library Research Guide to International Human Rights Law.

Hein Online
. Provides full text to the early issues of many legal journals and law reviews, the Federal Register (1936-six months ago), US Supreme Court Library (1754-present) and treaties and agreements.

Index to Legal Periodicals and Books/Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective
. Indexes legal journals, yearbooks, institutes, university publications, law reviews, books, and government publications from the United States and selected foreign countries. The Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective (1918-1981) secton indexes over 500 legal periodicals back to 1918.

LegalTrac
. Indexes journals, law reviews, and magazines related to legal research and commentary on case studies, government regulations, the practice of law, statutes, taxation, and international law.

Proquest Academic. Titles of international, national and local newspapers and wire services; radio and television transcripts; and business, and legislative magazines, newsletters, legal cases, and law reviews.  Geographic coverage and translations from foreign-language sources, as well as news services like the Associated Press, Agence France Press, El Pais and Xinhua (New China) News Agency. 

International & Area Databases

ABSEES Online Database. Indexes journal articles, books, dissertations, selected government publications, and online resources published in the US and Canada on East and Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. Covers the more recent years of the print equivalent, American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies.

Africa-Wide NiPADA comprehensive database covering journals, magazines, newspapers, broadcasts, books and more on all aspects of Africa including politics, history, economics, literature, music and natural sciences. Combines the databases previously known as African Studies and South African Studies.

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)Over 500,000 citations to journal articles, books, and conference proceedings worldwide on the countries, histories, and cultures of East, South, and Southeast Asia.

Handbook of Latin American StudiesIndexes books, journals and proceedings to create an annual bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars, alternating between focusing on the humanities and the social sciences.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)   . Indexes over 3000 journals, books, chapters, and book reviews in the fields of economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology from more than 100 countries. More than 70 languages are represented, with 30% percent of records published in languages other than English. (Search all ProQuest Social Sciences databases.)

Index IslamicusIndexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.

Last Update: 27 Oct 14:17