Digital Collections in Italian
E-book and e-journal collections, full-text online databases, and other digitized or born digital corpa relevant to Italian Studies are listed below. Consult Article Databases and Indexes under the Research Tools tab to discover articles available in both print and electronic formats.
The Library offers over 130 e-book and text collections in specific subject areas. Many of these e-books also available through OskiCat and Melvyl. You can limit your search in OskiCat to "Available online," and in Melvyl to "Online resources."
- ebrary (all disciplines)
- Humanities E-Book Project (humanities)
- Oxford Scholarship Online (political science, religion, philosophy, physics)
- Springer Electronic Book Package (Melvyl only; sciences and social sciences)
- Complete list...
University of California E-book Projects
Pronounced "hah-tee", this cooperative system contains millions of books scanned from UC and other major research libraries, including those digitized by Google and the Internet Archive. Search on information about the book (such as author or title), or words in the text. Full text is available for items that are not protected by copyright. Items in the HathiTrust catalog can be grouped into collections and shared online. For details, see the FAQ page.
Google Book Search
Books on many subjects, including titles from the UC libraries, digitized in partnership with Google. Full text can be displayed only if the book is out of copyright (generally, published before 1923) or if the copyright holder has given permission.
Internet Archive: Text Archive
Several hundred thousand books in the public domain, from the Open Content Alliance (OCA). Includes many books from our collections.
UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004
1,400 titles on a wide range of subjects from the University of California Press. Includes about 30% of UC Press books, both in and out of print. Books can be viewed but not downloaded.
Italian Electronic Text Collections
- Biblioteca Digitale IntraText
- *Biblioteca della letteratura italiana
- BIVIO (Istituto di Studi sul Rinascimento e Signum)
- Dante Online (Società Dantesca Italiana)
- Dartmouth Dante Project
- Decameron Web (Brown University)
- De Bibliotheca: Classici della letteratura Italiana
- Digital Dante (Columbia University)
- Divina Commedia - Electronic text of Dante's Divine Comedy (Media Soft)
- Duecento: la poesia italiana dalle origini a Dante
- The Galileo Project (Rice University)
- Internet Culturale: Colezzioni Digitali
- Italian Literature (WESSWeb)
- Italian Women Writers (University of Chicago)
- Machiavelli Online (University of Pennsylvania)
- Nuovo Rinascimento
- *OPAL libri antichi (Università degli Studi di Torino)
- La Poesia Italiana del Secondo Novecento
- Princeton Dante Project
- The World of Dante (University of Virginia)
An image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts. Among the participating institutions to this project are the Bancroft Library at UC Berkeley, Columbia University and the Union Theological Seminary.
Searchable and browseable database offering extensive access to the web of correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the long eighteenth century and their families and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers.
Electronic Text Collections in Western European Literature
Lists literary texts freely available on the Internet in Western European languages other than English. Languages included are: Catalan, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, Galician, German, Greek, Irish, Italian, Latin, Norwegian, Old Norse and Icelandic, Portuguese, Romanian, Provencal, Spanish, Swedish.
Europeana - the European digital library provides direct access to more than 15 million digital objects, including film material, photos, paintings, sounds, maps, manuscripts, books, newspapers and archival papers.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
Contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
A collection of electronically published books selected by the American Historical Association and Columbia University Press. The titles represent a wide range of historical subjects.
Includes records for more than 430 titles from the Incunabula Collection of the Bancroft Library. Printed before 1501, these books reflect the transitional phase between the manuscript and the print traditions. The collection includes philosophical, theological, scientific, mathematical, historical, legal, and poetical works.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook
Provides access selected excerpts to sources particularly useful for the teaching of Medieval Studies. Also includes full-texts fo medieval sources and a section on ancient, medieval and Byzantine hagiographical sources.
Opera del Vocabolario Italiano (OVI)
More than 1,800 vernacular texts including Dante, Petrarch, and Boccaccio, as well as many lesser-known texts the majority of which are dated prior to 1375, the year of Boccaccio's death.