Italian Studies

Reference Sources for Italian Studies

Use the following types of reference sources to look up information related to Italian Studies:

Dictionaries, Thesauri and QuotationsBiographical SourcesEncyclopedias and AlmanacsAtlases, Maps and GazetteersWeb Portals

Dictionaries, Thesauri, and Quotations

General and subject specific dictionaries in any language, dual language dictionaries, thesauri, dictionaries of quotations, and acronym lists.

*Blue asterisk indicates that the resource was recently added to the guide.

Online

Print

Grande dizionario italiano dell'uso / Tullio De Mauro. Torino: UTET, 1999-2003.
Doe Reference PC1625 .D38 1999 Dictionaries v. 1-7

Grande dizionario della lingua italiana. v.1-21 (A-Z); suppl. 2004; Index Suppl.2 (1961-c2004). Salvatore Battaglia. Torino, Unione tipografico-editrice torinese, 1961.
Doe Reference PC 1625 .B3 Dictionaries v. 1-21

Lessico universale italiano. Roma: Istituto della Enciclopedia Italiana, 1968-81.
Main Stacks AE35 .L431 v. 1-24

*Oxford-Paravia Italian Dictionary: English-Italian, Italian-English = OxfordParaviaIl Dizionario: Inglese/Italiano, Italiano/Inglese. 3rd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2010.
Doe Reference PC1640 .O95 2010 Dictionaries 

 Il Ragazzini: dizionario inglese italiano, italiano inglese: 2008 / di Giuseppe Ragazzini. 4. ed. [rev., updated & restyled] Bologna: Zanichelli, 2007.
Main Stacks PC1640.R35 2007

Vocabolario degli accademici della Crusca. Vocabolario degli accademici della Crusca; oltre le giunte fatteci finora, cresciuto d'assai migliaja di voci e modi de' ... Verona, Stamp. di D. Ramanzini, 1804-06.
NRLF/Main Stacks 779b.F63.1804 v.1-7 (1804-1806) & online

Il vocabolario Treccani. 2 ed. Roma: Istituto della Enciclopedia italiana, Fondata da Giovanni Trecanni, 1997.
Doe Reference PC 1625 .V53 1997 Dictionaries v.1-6 & Online

Il vocabolario Treccani: neologismi: parole nuove dai giornali / [direttori scientifici, Giovanni Adamo, Valeria Della Valle]. Roma: Istituto della Enciclopedia italiana, 2008.
Doe Reference PC1625 .V536 2008 Dictionaries

Lo Zingarelli: vocabolario della lingua italiana / Nicola Zingarelli. 12. ed. A cura di Miro Dogliotti e Luigi Rosiello. Bologna : Zanichelli, 2006, c.1999.
Doe Reference PC1625.Z25 2006 Dictionaries

Library Databases

A complete list of licensed databases is available through the Library's Electronic Resource Finder.

Biographical Sources

Online

*Dizionario biografico degli Italiani (Treccanni.it)

Print

Catalogo dei viventi: 5062 italiani notevoli, 2007 / Giorgio Dell'Arti, Massimo Parrini. Venezia: Marsilio, 2006.
Doe Reference CT1133 .D45 2006

Dizionario autori italiani contemporanei. 4 ed. ampliata e aggiornata. Milano : G. Miano, 2006.
Doe Reference PQ4057.D58 2006

Dizionario biografico degli anarchici italiani. diretto da Maurizio Antonioli ... [et al.].
Pisa : BFS, 2003.
Main Stacks HX902.5.D59 2003 v.1-2

Dizionario biografico degli Italiani. Alberto M. Ghisalberti. Roma: Istituto della Enciclopedia italiana, 1960- vols. 1-74 (A-Massimino da Salerno)
Doe Reference DG463.D58 & online

Indice biografico italiano = Italian biographical index = Italienischer biographischer Index / a cura di = compiled by = bearbeitet von Tommaso Nappo. München: K.G. Saur, 2002.
Doe Reference CT1131 .I54 2002 v.1-10 (2002)

The New Century Italian Renaissance Encyclopedia. Edited by Catherine B. Avery. Editorial consultants: Marvin B. Becker [and] Ludovico Borgo.
Doe Reference DG537.8.A1 N48

Who's Who in Italy. Milano: Who's Who in Italy, 1988-
Doe Reference DG 578 .W5
Main Stacks DG578.W5; Latest vol. in Doe Reference

Library Databases

  • Benezit Dictionary of Artists
    Over 190,000 entries on artists from antiquity to the present. Searchable via Oxford Art Online along with Grove Art Online, The Concise Dictionary of Art Terms, etc.
  • Biography Reference Bank
    Contains biographical information on approximately 500,000 individuals from antiquity to the present.
  • De Imperatoribus Romanis: An Online Encyclopedia of Roman Emperors
    Encyclopedia on the rulers of the Roman empire from Augustus (27 BC-AD 14) to Constantine XI Palaeologus (1449-1453).
  • Grove Art Online
    Online version of The Grove Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 volumes).
  • Grove Music Online
    Includes the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.
  • Literature Resource Center (LRC)
    Indexes biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers.
  • Marquis Who's Who
    Features brief profiles on over 1.4 million individuals from all fields including government, business, science and technology, the arts, entertainment, and sports. Equivalent to the print versions of Who's Who in America, Who's Who in the World, Who's Who of American Women, Who's Who in Business and Finance, and many other Who's Who volumes.
  • World Biographical Information System
    Indexes the complete contents of K. G. Saur's microfiche set Biographical Archives, providing short biographies on more than 3.6 million persons from all periods, countries and regions worldwide.

Encyclopedias and Almanacs

General or subject-specific encyclopedias, almanacs, and other collections of factual information. 

Online

Print

Enciclopedia italiana di scienze, lettere ed arti. Roma: Istituto della Enciclopedia italiana, 1929-2001. v.1-36 (1929-1939), app. v.1-5 (1938-1991), app. 2000 v.1-4; v.5:1-2; v.6:1-2 (c2000-c2001)
Doe Reference AE35.E6 & online

Lessico universale italiano. Roma: Istituto della Enciclopedia Italiana, 1968-81.
Main Stacks AE35 .L431 v. 1-24

Library Databases

  • Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics
    Covers the topics in contemporary linguistics from fundamental linguistic disciplines such as phonetics, syntax, and morphology to applications in other disciplines.
  • Europa World
    Provides political and economic information on over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
  • Brill's New Pauly
    Over 27,000 articles which provide comprehensive coverage of the ancient world from the prehistory of the Aegean (2nd millennium BCE) to late antiquity (600-800 CE).
  • Oxford Reference Online - Encyclopedias
    Online edition of The World Encyclopedia from Oxford University Press.
  • Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
    Includes the entire content of the 10-volume Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Includes links to web resources

Atlases, Maps and Gazetteers

Online

Print

Atlante della storia d'Italia. Novara: Istituto Geografico De Agostini, c1997.
Earth Science/Map Collection f G1989.2 .I57 1997

Atlante delle province d'Italia. Roma: Visceglia, 1991.
Earth Science/Map Collection f G1989.21.F7 V5 1991

Atlas de la Sardaigne rurale aux 17e et 18e siècles / John Day ... [et al.]. Paris: Editions de l'Ecole des hautes études en sciences sociales, 1993.
Earth Science/Map Collection G1989.51.G1 A85 1993


Grande atlante d'Italia de Agonisti. Novara: Istituto Geografico De Agostini, c1987.
Earth Science/Map Collection f G1989.2 .I57 1997


Lessico universale italiano: atlante e repertorio geografico. Roma: Istituto della Enciclopedia Italiana, 1973.
Doe Reference AE35 .L431 Atlases


Library Databases

  • CIA World Factbook
    Provides fundamental and factual reference material on a country or issue including current economic statistics and indicators by country including population, GDP, external debt and birth and death rates. Includes maps.
  • Columbia Gazetteer of the World
    Geographical encyclopedia of names, descriptions, and characteristics of more than 165,000 places in the world.
  • Country Studies
    A continuing series of books prepared by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored by the Department of the Army. This series presently contains studies of 100 countries
  • David Rumsey Map Collection
    Contains to date over 8,000 maps online and focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North and South America cartographic history materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia and Africa are also represented.
  • Electronic Cultural Atlas Initiative
    Portal for global mapping, imagery, and texts. Presents combinations of data from multiple disciplines visually and immediately.
  • Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection
    Provides electronic access to approximately 4,000 maps for all regions of the world. Maps cover mostly the 19th and 20th centuries though some represent time periods as far back as 980 C.E.

Web Portals

Web sites and subject-specific search engines available without restriction. See also Italian Libraries and Archives under the Research Tools tab.

Online

Library Databases

  • Europeana
    Europeana the European digital library provides direct access to more than 15 million digital objects, including film material, photos, paintings, sounds, maps, manuscripts, books, newspapers and archival papers.
Last Update: 29 Jul 13:07 | Tagged with: Italian Romance Languages Italian studies