Includes over 1,000 scholarly journals with access to more than 2 million articles, most with full-text. The full-text for articles from the past 3 to 5 years is linked to externally.
Comprehensive database covering journals, magazines, newspapers, broadcasts, books and more on all aspects of Africa including politics, history, economics, literature, music and natural sciences. Many African publications included.
Contains over 700,000 articles from 120 news publications throughout Africa. Also includes press releases and documents from 200 governments and non-governmental organizations in and outside of Africa. Roughly 30% of articles are in French.
Black Studies Center (BSC)
Includes journal article, book, text, and newspaper collections covering African Diaspora and African American Studies.
Quarterly Index of African Periodical Literature
Indexes over 300 selected scholarly periodicals acquired regularly from 29 African countries by the Library of Congress Nairobi office. Also includes selected publications of non-governmental organizations, covering a wide range of topics.
A complete electronic archive covering 11 widely-read American Anthropological Association (AAA) journals (American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, Anthropology and Humanism, Archeological Publications of the American Anthropological Association, Cultural Anthropology, Ethos, Journal of Linguistic Anthropology, Medical Anthropology Quarterly, NAPA bulletin and PoLAR: Political and Legal Anthropology Review). Other AAA journals are available.
Bibliography of Slavery and World Slavery
A searchable database of references to over 25,000 scholarly works in all academic disciplines and in all western European languages on slavery and slaving throughout the world. It includes most known print and digital materials published since 1900 covering historical and modern times.
eHRAF World Cultures
Covers mostly primary source material on cultures or societies representing all major areas of the world. Includes many rare sources as well as English translations of foreign texts.
Indexes over 2,000 journals, as well as historical book reviews and dissertations, published worldwide about all aspects of world history (excluding US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles covered were written from 1954 to the present
Literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world is the focus. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.
Over 250 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences available full-text. Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Indexes books, journals, and dissertations within the field of political science and related to international relations, law and politics, political economy, public administration, and public policy.
Book & Text Collections
African Studies Collection
Collection of e-books from the Leiden University's (Netherlands) African Studies Collection.
African Writers Series
Heinemann's African Writers Series includes works from the canon of African 20th century literature including stories, drama, poetry and other literary works.
African Journal Archive
A retrospective digitization project of full-text journal articles published in Africa. Includes journals covering the Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities, providing access to a multi-disciplinary, multi-country digital archive of Africa's research and cultural heritage contained in its journal literature. Journal articles hosted on the Archive extend back to the first issue (if available) and end with the last pre-current issue (determined by the publisher). The site includes over 700 issues of journal archives of academic, scholarly, institutional, museums, and professional research organizations in Africa.
Contains the full text of 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than by more 100 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. The database is includes drama of the Harlem Renaissance and drama, the Black Arts Movement and 20th century African and Caribbean drama.
Black Drama, 2nd edition
Covers almost 1,500 plays by more than 200 playwrights. Includes information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. The plays have been selected using leading bibliographies and with the editorial advice of James V. Hatch, co-author with Errol G. Hill of A History of African American Theatre. Complements the other Alexander Street Press database Black Drama,(first edition).
Leiden University Repository
Includes free electronic academic publications by Leiden researchers, dissertations, special lectures, and other works. Includes publications from the Leiden African Studies Centre and other Leiden Africanists, the International Institute for Asian Studies (IIAS), and the International Institute for the Study of Islam in the Modern World (ISIM).
Nordic Africa Institute Publications
A free, open access online archive to books, research reports, conference proceedings, and journal articles produced and published by the Nordic Africa Institute (NAI). Publications cover mainly the Social Sciences within African Studies. Over half of the materials indexed are available full-text, covering the 1960s to current, with the majority in English.
African Newspapers (from the World Newspaper Archive)
Includes over 60 full-text searchable newspapers published in Sub-Saharan Africa prior to 1923. Most titles are in English, with some coverage in African and other European languages.
Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966
From coastal trading in the early nineteenth century, through the Conference of Berlin of 1884 and the subsequent Scramble for Africa, to the abuses of the Congo Free State, fights against tropical disease, Italy's defeat by the Abyssinians, World War II, apartheid in South Africa and colonial moves towards independence, the documents in this resource cover the whole of the modern period of European colonization of the continent. The resource also includes a gallery of maps. Part of a larger series of documents issued by the British Government. This collection originated out of a need to preserve the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. These documents range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties. All items marked "Confidential Print" were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad.
Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1, 1718-1876: From the American Antiquarian Society
Part of the America's Historical Newspapers collection, Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1, 1718-1876, is a fully searchable collection of over 130 18th- and 19th-century newspapers from twenty-two Caribbean islands. Most newspapers were published in the English language, but a number of Danish-, French-, and Spanish-language titles are included. Essential for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce and relations, New World slavery, and related topics.
David Rumsey Map Collection
Contains to date over 8,000 maps online and focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North and South America cartographic history materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia and Africa are also represented.
Digital Innovation South Africa (DISA)
A free online scholarly resource primarily covering the anti-apartheid liberation struggles in Southern Africa from 1950 to 1994. Includes primary and some secondary resources from books and journals to photographs, pamphlets, oral histories and correspondences for researching Southern African history, politics, and society.
Includes 70,000 images of original manuscript and printed documents to support study and research in the field of colonial and empire studies. Five sections include: Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion and Empire; and Race, Class, Imperialism and Colonialism, c. 1607-1969 (coming soon). In addition to original documents, this database contains scholarly essays and analysis.
Ethnographic Video Online
A growing collection (currently more than 400 titles) of classic and contemporary ethnographic films, with wide-ranging coverage of the world's regions and cultures, and by some of the most influential filmmakers of the genre. The films explore key themes in anthropology and the broader social sciences, including language and culture, family and kinship, sex and gender, social stratification and status, music and the arts, and religion.
Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database (Voyages)
Primary resource documenting the African slave trade. Includes detailed information concerning over 35,000 voyages from 1514 to 1866 with names, statistics, images and other information.
Country Information & Statistics
The Library's Sub-Saharan African Government Information page includes a custom search engine to locate African government websites. Consult OskiCat to find titles from Berkeley's large print collection of African government information.
African Development Indicators (ADI)
Detailed data on Africa, containing over 1,600 indicators, covering 53 African countries from 1961 to present. Includes data on social, economic, financial, natural resources, infrastructure, governance, partnership, and environmental indicators. To access, click "ADI Database at the World dataBank" under Formats Available.
Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Reports and Profiles
Indexes studies that provide analysis and forecasts of the political, economic, and business environments in more than 180 countries. Annual profiles are updated by quarterly reports.
Provides political and economic information on over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe. A useful source of statistics on area and population, health and welfare, agriculture, forestry, fishing, mining, industry, finance, external trade, transport, tourism, communications media, and education.
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
Provides full-text access to thousands of 19th Century Parliamentary Papers. Includes statistical abstracts for British colonies in Africa and other historical data documenting British colonialism.
AccessUN: The Readex Index to United Nations Documents
Indexes United Nations (UN) documents and publications including Official Records, UN journals, reports, treaties, conferences, draft resolutions, declarations, meeting records, UN Sales Publications, and UN Treaty Series. Contains the full text of several thousand UN documents.
UC DATA (Data Archive & Technical Assistance)
The principal archive of computerized social science information for teaching and research. Part of UC Berkeley's Survey Research Center.
World Development Indicators (WDI)
Provides time series development indicators data (1960-present) for 207 countries. Includes tables for population, labor and employment, education, health, energy, urbanization, national accounts, purchasing power, trade, government finance, monetary, balance of payments, external debt, investment risk, taxes, prices and exchange rates, transport and communication, and information and technology.
Find Dissertations by searching Dissertations and Theses (Dissertation Abstracts) Full Text, which includes full-text of most dissertations since 1997. It indexes over 1.5 million dissertations completed in North American (including UC) and European universities from 1861 to the present. Listings after 1980 include abstracts, and some feature 24-page excerpts.
Consult the comprehensive list of African American Theses and Dissertations, 1907-2002 at UCB. Also see Find Dissertations and Theses for other specialized sources, and dissertations completed at a UC campus can also be found in Library catalogs, which have limit to dissertations/theses search options:
Other Full-text Access: Online full-text of UC dissertations (from 1996) can be found by searching Dissertations & Theses @ University of California and also appear in Library catalog search results. UC Berkeley dissertations in print prior to 1996 may be found by searching the Library catalogs. Dissertations done at other UC campuses prior to 1996 or ouside the UC system must be obtained through Interlibrary Loan or using the "Request" option in Melvyl.