News Sources & Statistics
ISI Emerging Markets
A good source for full-text newspapers, newswires, etc. from the Former Soviet Union and Eastern Europe.
Provides general and business news and information from more than 9,000 sources in 22 languages, including influential local, national and international newspapers.
Includes over 6,000 individual titles of international, national and local newspapers and wire services; radio and television transcripts; and business, medical, industry, and legislative magazines, journals, and newsletters.
A Russian-language, free news service.
Pravda Digital Archive
Full text and full image coverage of Pravda beginning in 1912 to the present. Searchable in Russian Cyrillic or transliteration.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Electronic Index
Indexes the FBIS Daily Reports issued by the US Government covering political, economic, scientific, and cultural issues and events throughout the world. Translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from various nations are the sources of this information. Reports since 1996 can be found in WorldNews Connection.
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty (RFE/RL)
Free news source (with archives) covering Russia, Transcaucases, Central Asia and Eastern Europe.
World News Connection
Translated transcriptions and summaries of radio and television broadcasts, newspaper articles, conference proceedings, periodicals and non-classified technical reports, representing nearly every country in the world.
Russia/NIS Statistical Publications (UDB-STAT)
Covers Russian- and English-language publications, reports and data sets from State Committee of the Russian Federation on Statistics and the Interstate Statistical Committee of the Commonwealth of Independet States. Coverage includes national and regional level socioeconomic indicators, statistical yearbooks and monthly analytical reports, annual statistical abstracts on national accounts, population, labor, public health, transportation, industrial output, and related socioeconomic measures. Also included is an on-line version of the 2002 All-Russia Census.
Databases and Indexes
This is a recommended list of databases, indexes, and searchable full-text collections. Some are discipline specific, while others cover multiple subject areas. Not all disciplines are represented here. For additional databases consult Electronic Resources on the Library Main Web Page
ABSEES Online Database
Indexes journal articles, books, dissertations, selected government publications, and online resources published in the US and Canada.
Central and East European Online Library
Full text PDF articles from 442 humanities and social science journals. Works best with Internet Explorer.
Indexes over 2,000 journals, as well as historical book reviews and dissertations, published worldwide.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials supporting critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Sponsored by the Modern Language Association.
Includes over 1000 scholarly journals with access to more than 2 million articles. JSTOR is an archive which means that current issues (generally the most recent 3-5 years) of the journals are not yet available.
Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies
Covers more than 12,500 periodicals published primarily in Russia, the republics of the former Soviet Union, and countries in Eastern Europe. Also includes citations and abstracts for books, manuscripts, and dissertations.
Russian Social Sciences and Humanities Database (UDB-EDU)
Contains over 80 full-text academic journals including all journals published by the Russian Academy of Sciences. Journals can be read individually or searched as a group using the imbedded Cyrillic keyboard or Library of Congress transliteration. The journals focus on all subject in the Social Sciences and Humanities.
Russian National Bibliography
Comprised of several periodical publications of the Knizhnaia Palata including Knizhnaia letopis', Letopis' zhurnalnykh statei, and Letopis' gazetnykh statei. It can be searched in both Cyrillic and in transliteration, limited to a particular bibliographic publication, or to a range of years. Coverage is 1998-.