Economics

News & Current Events in Economics

The following includes a selection of newspaper and current events sources in economics, historical newspaper databases, and highy read economics blogs (see below).    

Access World News. Full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources. Offers strong regional coverage for California newspapers.

Business Source Complete
. Provides full-text for scholarly business journals and other sources, including nearly 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications as well as other sources of information such as country economic reports from the EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group and CountryWatch. For guidance on how to search, see Business Source Complete tutorial

The Conference Board
. Research reports on busines and US and global economics. Includes studies of Fortune 500 companies on business trends, leadership decisions, ethics and corporate governance, and forcasts of regional, national, and international economic conditions.

The Economist. General interest news source about current trends in business, politics and economics worldwide. Locations for print magazine can be found via this record in Oskicat.  For historical issues see the Economist Historical Archive which provides the full text of each issue of the Economist from 1843- 2003.

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Profiles and Reports
.  In-depth, lengthy reports on macroeconomic, financial, and political conditions in over 200 countries. Also includes reports on monetary structure, business environment, and stock markets in 51 countries.

Factiva. General and business news and information from sources in 22 languages, including local, national and international newspapers, business magazines, trade publications, and wires. Includes the exclusive combination of The Wall Street Journal (1979-present), the Financial Times, Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and the Associated Press.

Financial Times
.  Access to the Financial Times from January 1998 to present. For historical access see the Financial Times Historical Archive which has the complete run of the daily Financial Times from the first issue in 1888 through 2006.

Lexis-Nexis Academic
. Full-text source for business, current affairs, legal information, medical information and news with online access to over 70 million articles appearing in newspapers, journals, newsletters, broadcast transcripts, reference works and other documents.

New York Times.  Full-text coverage of the New York Times. For Historical issues see Historical Newspapers (ProQuest).

Project Syndicate. Excellent collection of op-ed commentaries from some of the world's leading economists and opinions makers. Includes columnes from Jagdish Bhagwati, Brad DeLong Barry Eichengreen, Kenneth Rogof, Nouriel Roubini, Joseph E. Stiglitz, Martin Feldstein, Dani Rodrik, and Jeffrey Sachs.

Wall Street Journal.  Via Proquest, also available via Factiva. For historical issues (from 1889) see Historical Newspapers (ProQuest).

Read more

Economics Blogs

Economics blogs are great places to read about current events and follow lively discussions about economic issues. The following is a list of some of the more widely read ones.

Angry Bear. "Slightly left of center" economic and financial commentary on news, politics, and economics.

Becker-Posner. From Gary Becker and Richard Posner at the University of Chicago.

Calculated Risk. Top ranked economics and finance blog with a focus on the housing market.  

Carpe Diem. By Mike Perry, professor of economics and finance at the University of Michigan.

Conscience of Liberal. By Paul Krugman at Princeton University, for the New York Times.

Econbrowser. Highly respected blog by Menzie Chinn. Chinn, economics professor at the University of Wisconsin and James Hamilton, professor of UC San Diego

Ezra Klein. "Economic and domestic policy and lots of it," by Ezra Klein at the Washington Post.

Dani Rodrik. "Unconventional thoughts on economic development and globalization" by Dani Rodrik, professor at the Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University. 

Felix Salmon. Financial blog by Felix Salmon. formerly of Portfolio Magazine and Euromoney.

Freakonomics. Entertaining blog founded by economist Steven Levitt (University of Chicago) and journalist Stephen J. Dubner, authors of Freakonomics and SuperFreakonomics

Grasping Reality with Both Hands. Entertaining and informative blog on economics, politics and history by UC Berkeley's Brad Delong.

Greg Mankiw. "Random Observations for Students of Economics" from an econonmist at Harvard and author of several leading undergraduduate textbooks.

Economist's View. By Mark Thoma, University of Oregon.

Marginal Revolution. By Tyler Cowen and Alex Tabarrok at George Mason University.

Mish's Global Economic Trend Analysis. By Mike "Mish" Shedlock, an investment advisor at Sitka Pacific Capital.

Naked Capitalism. By Yves Smith, author of Econned.

VoxEU. Research-based policy analysis portal and commentary from Europe's leading  economists set up by the Centre for Economic Policy Research.

Last Update: 30 Sep 21:17