Articles - general
Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary index to articles in journals and other publications in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese; full-text is available for over 5300 journals.
Access World News
Provides full-text information and perspectives from U.S. and international sources. Strong regional coverage,California newspapers: Contra Costa Times (1995-current), Sacramento Bee (1984-current), San Francisco Chronicle (1985-current), and San Jose Mercury News (1985-current). Search: California newspapers, Greater Los Angeles, major metropolitan titles, Spanish-language news sources, the World, US.
Alternative, radical, and independent magazines, newspapers, and journals in North America which report on politics and government, policy and culture, international issues, education, environment as well as reviews of theater, movies and books.
Lists articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas. Use with UC-eLinks to access the full text of many articles; click on "Scholar Preferences", search Library Links for "Berkeley", and choose "University of California Berkeley - UC-eLinks." Some listings also include links to related articles and to other sources that cite the item.
Indexes books, journal articles, audiovisual materials, state agricultural and USDA publications. Subjects include agriculture, agricultural economics, animal science, entomology, horticulture, nutrition, plant diseases, and soil science.
Indexes journals, books, and conference proceedings are indexed on biological and biomedical topics.
Indexes journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports, and agricultural literature. Covers biodiversity, biotechnology, pest control,environmental pollution, animal science, nutrition and food technology, crop production, natural resources, forestry, environmental policy, and rural development.
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books, & government publications. Covers: agricultural biotechnology, air quality, aquatic pollution, bacteriology, ecology, energy resources, environmental biotechnology, environmental engineering, environmental impact statements, hazardous waste, industrial hygiene, microbiology, pollution, risk assessment, safety science, toxicology, water pollution, waste management, and water resource issues.
Indexes worldwide literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment. Covers: topics relating to the oceans, marine biology, physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, as well as environmental, technological, and legislative topics.
Access to citations from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, other journals in the field of medicine and life sciences, and links to NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
Contains 50 million+ records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes 21,000+ journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, humanities, and social sciences literature. Includes 100% of Medline and 23 million patents from the 5 patent offices including U.S. Patent and Trademark Office and the World Intellectual Property Organization. Cited references available from 1996 forward. A Journal Analyzer tool assesses journal performance.
Web of Science
Indexes journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences, searches footnoted citations. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index.