Cited Reference Search
Use Web of Science. Cited Reference Search. (Select Cited Reference Search from the "Basic" menu)
1. Enter Author;s name:
2. Select cited references (or select all) and click Finish Search.
3. Results page: click Create citation report or Analyze Results.
Citation Management Tools
Citation management tools help you manage your research, collect and cite sources, and create bibliographies in a variety of citation styles. Each one has its strengths and weaknesses, but any are easier than doing it by hand! Compare
- RefWorks - free for UC Berkeley users. It allows you to create your own database by importing references and using them for footnotes and bibliographies. Use the RefWorks New User Form to sign up.
- EndNote: may be purchased from UC Berkeley's Software Central.
- Zotero: A free plug-in that works exclusively with the Firefox browser: keeps copies of what you find on the web, permits tagging, notation, full text searching of your library of resources, works with Word, and has a free web backup service.
It's always good to double check the formatting -- sometimes the software doesn't get it quite right.
Citation Linker: Finding the article when you have a citation
Sometimes you find an article in a bibliography, a book or a footnote -- and you want to see if we have it. The Citation Linker searches through our online databases to see if it is available fulltext. If not, it sets up a search for the paper journal in Melvyl. And if we don't have it at Berkeley, it lets you request it through Interlibrary Loan.
Subjects:Comprehensive coverage of the biological sciences. Sources: Journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, technical reports, and other sources. For more information on using this resource see the following guides and tutorials: BIOSIS guide, Creating Alerts, Creating an RSS Feed
Subjects: Life sciences, Molecular biology, biochemistry, and other biomedical fields. Sources: Life science journals, MEDLINE, and online books. Includes: Links to NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system. Note: Use the UCB-specific URL to see a customized version of PubMed that includes UC-eLinks.
Web of Science
Subjects: Broad coverage of scientific fields, as well as the social sciences and the arts and humanities. Sources: Journals, conference proceedings and book chapters. Cited reference searches find articles that cite a given author or reference. USE the following tutorials: Creating search and citation alerts, Creating an RSS Feed
Indexes journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports, and other sources from the agricultural literature and from more than 100 countries. Subjects: biodiversity, biotechnology, pest control,environmental pollution, animal science, nutrition and food technology, crop production, natural resources, forestry, environmental policy, and rural development.
Contains over 50 million records. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, humanities, and social sciences literature. Includes 100% of the Medline database and more than 23 million patents from the 5 patent offices including U.S. Patent and Trademark Office and the World Intellectual Property Organization. Cited references available from 1996 forward. A Journal Analyzer tool assesses journal performance. Trial access to Scopus ends on December 31, 2014.
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
Indexes 6,000+ journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books, and government publications. Subjects:agricultural biotechnology, air quality, aquatic pollution, bacteriology, ecology, energy resources, environmental biotechnology, environmental engineering, environmental impact statements, hazardous waste, industrial hygiene, microbiology, pollution, risk assessment, safety science, toxicology, water pollution, waste management, and water resource issues.
Indexes books, articles, audiovisual materials, state agricultural and USDA publications. Subjects: agriculture, agricultural economics, animal science, entomology, horticulture, nutrition, plant diseases, and soil science.
Indexes 6,000+ journals and a wide range of monographic publications. Subjects: comprehensive coverage all aspects of zoology including systematics, ecology, behavior, evolution and conservation.
Cite Your Sources & Manage Your Documents (pdfs)
Programs such as: Endnote, Refworks, Zotero, allow you to download, collect, share & manage references, PDFs, data, and documents. Some work with word processing to format citations and footnotes in papers and create bibliographies in a variety of styles.
EndNote (Mac, PC, web-based) is a program that you install on your computer & use on the web. EndNote works with word software to format citations, and create bibliographies in many styles. It can be purchased from The Scholar's Workstation or online. &
tips to enter your citations per index
[Endnote X7 Exercises]
RefWorks(Online) is a web-based bibliographic management service licensed by the library for UCB faculty, staff and students. RefWorks can be used independently or as a complement to EndNote. To use, create an account using the RefWorks New User form.
Zotero (Firefox) is a free Firefox extension that manages citations found online through your browser. Zotero can capture, store citations, pdfs, images and databases. Zotero can create bibliographies in Word and OpenOffice in a limited number of styles.
TeX: is a typesetting language used for scientific document preparation. LaTeX is a program that converts a plain text file into TeX. BibTeX is a tool that can be used with LaTeX to create documents and bibliographies. http://www.latex-project.org. Tools are free to download. The TeX Users Group (TUG) includes an FAQ, links to software. Endnote has a BibTeX output style that will format your citations into TeX.
Papers (Mac) is low-cost software that allows you to search, retrieve, organize, and annotate article PDFs. You can also easily export references into citation management tools like EndNote so that you can use their citation and bibliography formatting features.
Mendeley is a free web-based reference manager & can be used as a social network to organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover current developments.
Software for Science Reference Management: a web-list of many bibliographic management programs for the PC or Mac, some are free.
Use the following charts for other programs and more information:
Citation manager comparison chart
Document manager comparison chart