Dissertations & Theses
Dissertations and Theses (Dissertation Abstracts)
Dates: 1861 - present
Coverage: Indexes graduate dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities. Dissertations published since 1980, and master's theses since 1988, include brief abstracts written by the authors. Offers full text of most of the dissertations added since 1997.
Search by: thesis advisor, topic or title term, author, and other fields.
UC Berkeley Dissertations
To search for UC dissertations, go to Dissertations and Theses @ University of California (available in full text).
To locate dissertations from a specific UC Berkeley department, search OskiCat for the keywords berkeley dissertations <department name>.
Example: berkeley dissertations molecular and cell biology
E-books in collections marked * are also available through OskiCat and Melvyl.
You can limit your search in OskiCat to "Available online," and in Melvyl to "Online resources."
- The Bioscience and Natural Resources LIbrary ebooks list.
- Chinamaxx Digital Library (humanities and social sciences books in Chinese)
- CRCnetBASE * (sciences)
- Knovel, (science and interdisciplinary)
- Oxford Scholarship Online (political science, religion, philosophy, physics)
- Safari Tech Books Online * (computers)
- Springer Electronic Book Package * (Melvyl only; sciences and social sciences)
- Complete list...
Find Books, eBooks, Journals
Print & Electronic Books are cataloged in OskiCat and Melvyl. Some are included in publisher packages or special subject collections.
Use the Bioscience & Natural Resources Library eBooks list for full-text collections such as CRCnetBASE, The Prokaryotes, Springer E-books, ebrary, and Knovel Library.
Search the Library catalogs
OskiCat: UCB, use to renew your books online, find course reserves, request checked out or offsite items; restrict your search to a specific library, online items or available items only.
E-Books: Limit your search to Available Online.Journals: When searching on exact journal titles, change the search field to Title and limit the search to Journals / Magazines / Newspapers.
Melvyl: UC System,search for books, ebooks, journals, dissertations, and articles. Search libraries worldwide, request items UCB does NOT own, create and save lists, automatically format citations; use keywords or subject headings for title, subject, author.
For materials not owned by UC Berkeley: Borrowing from Other Libraries.
Electronic Books: are included in OskiCat, Melvyl,
Google Books, Google Scholar.
Use UC e-Links to link to the full text of articles ( if available).
eBook databases -DM
Selected list of databases.
California Digital Conservation Atlas
Provides easy-to-use, map views of California's natural resources and working landscapes. Categories of maps: cultural geography, freshwater resources and characteristics, political districts, transportation networks & models, conservation planning, environmental hazards and more.
California Map Series
Maps of California's congressional districts,state senate and assembly districts and county maps. Produced by the California Voter Foundation.
California Statistical Abstract
Compilation of data on social, economic, and physical aspects of the State. The contributor for each table is given at the bottom of the table and may be contacted for more details or an explanation of the data.
A collection of handbooks in the environmental sciences.
A collection of more than 200 handbooks in all areas of engineering.
Contains full text of over 109 reference texts concerning food sciences
Collection of 800+ engineering and scientific reference handbooks, texts, and databases. Search by topic across the aggregated set, or browse the content of a specific title. Features include numerical range searching and interactive graphs and tables.
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms (AccessScience)
Part of AccessScience/McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology. Search the Science Dictionary by entering terms in the second search box.
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology (AccessScience)
Online McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, 9th Edition, and the the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, 6th Edition. Covers all areas of science and technology, including Anthropology & Archaeology, Chemistry, Engineering & Materials, Food Science & Technology, Medicine and Paleontology.