Molecular and Cell Biology

Find Articles

Electronic Journals
Search or browse for specific e-journal titles

Citation Linker
Look for a specific citation, even with only partial information

Keeping Current
Set up e-mail alerts or RSS feeds from journals, databases, and other sources.

Article Databases
Search the following article databases to find journal articles, book chapters, and conference proceedings.

To access full text: UC-eLinks

For materials not owned by UC Berkeley: Borrowing from Other Libraries.

  • BIOSIS Previews
    Subjects: Comprehensive coverage of the biological sciences.
    Sources: Journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, technical reports, and other sources.
    For more information on using this resource see the following guides and tutorials:
    BIOSIS guide
    Creating Alerts
    Creating an RSS Feed

  • PubMed
    Subjects: Molecular biology, biochemistry, and other biomedical fields.
    Sources: Life science journals, MEDLINE, and online books.
    Includes: Links to NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
    Note: Use the UCB-specific URL to see a customized version of PubMed that includes UC-eLinks.
    For more information on using this database see the following tutorials:
    PubMed guide
    Saving and E-mailing Results and Searches in PubMed
    Setting Preferences in My NCBI
    Importing PubMed Records to EndNote
    Importing citations from PubMed to RefWorks

  • Web of Science
    Subjects: Broad coverage of scientific fields, as well as the social sciences and the arts and humanities.
    Sources: Journals, conference proceedings and book chapters.
    Cited reference searches find articles that cite a given author or reference.
    For more information on using this database see the following tutorials:
    Creating search and citation alerts
    Creating an RSS Feed

  • Google Scholar
    Subjects: all, but subject-specific databases may have greater coverage and functionality.
    Sources: Journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports.
    Scholar Preferences can be set to show UC-eLinks in your results list:
    - Click on Settings > Library Links
    - Search for "berkeley"
    - Choose "University of California Berkeley - UC-eLinks," then Save

Last Update: 22 Aug 10:17 | Tagged with: MCB