Cite Your Sources & Manage Your Documents (pdfs)
Programs such as: Endnote, Refworks, Zotero, allow you to download, collect, share & manage references, PDFs, data, and documents. Some work with word processing to format citations and footnotes in papers and create bibliographies in a variety of styles.
EndNote (Mac, PC, web-based) is a program that you install on your computer & use on the web. EndNote works with word software to format citations, and create bibliographies in many styles. It can be purchased from The Scholar's Workstation or online. &
tips to enter your citations per index
[Endnote X7 Exercises]
RefWorks(Online) is a web-based bibliographic management service licensed by the library for UCB faculty, staff and students. RefWorks can be used independently or as a complement to EndNote. To use, create an account using the RefWorks New User form.
Zotero (Firefox) is a free Firefox extension that manages citations found online through your browser. Zotero can capture, store citations, pdfs, images and databases. Zotero can create bibliographies in Word and OpenOffice in a limited number of styles.
TeX: is a typesetting language used for scientific document preparation. LaTeX is a program that converts a plain text file into TeX. BibTeX is a tool that can be used with LaTeX to create documents and bibliographies. http://www.latex-project.org. Tools are free to download. The TeX Users Group (TUG) includes an FAQ, links to software. Endnote has a BibTeX output style that will format your citations into TeX.
Papers (Mac) is low-cost software that allows you to search, retrieve, organize, and annotate article PDFs. You can also easily export references into citation management tools like EndNote so that you can use their citation and bibliography formatting features.
Mendeley is a free web-based reference manager & can be used as a social network to organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover current developments.
Software for Science Reference Management: a web-list of many bibliographic management programs for the PC or Mac, some are free.
Use the following charts for other programs and more information:
Citation manager comparison chart
Document manager comparison chart
Beautiful Evidence / Edward R. Tufte. P93.5 .T837 2006. Cheshire, Conn.: Graphics Press, 2006.
Envisioning Information / Edward R. Tufte. 10th printing, Mar. 2005. ed. Cheshire, Conn.: Graphics Press, 1990, 2005. P93.5 .T84 2005
The Visual Display of Quantitative Information / Edward R. Tufte . 2nd ed. Cheshire, Conn.: Graphics Press, 2001. HA31 .T914 2001.
Visual Explanations: Images and Quantities, Evidence and Narrative / Edward R. Tufte. 7th prt, revisions, June 2005. ed. Cheshire, Conn.: Graphics Press, 2005. BF241 .T83 2005
Science Writing, selected titles
A Field Guide for Science Writers / eBook: by Blum, Henig Robin, 2006
A Scientific Approach to Scientific Writing / eBook. Blackwell & Martin, 2011.
Am I making myself clear? a scientist's guide to talking to the public / & ebook Cornelia Dean.
Scientific Writing = Thinking in Words / Lindsay, 2011.
Scientific Style and Format, The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors and Publishers. 7th ed. Council of Science Editors.
The Manual of Scientific Style: A Guide for Authors, Editors, and Researchers / eBook / Rabinowitz and Vogel, 2009.
The Oxford Book of Modern Science Writing /Dawkins, 2008.
Who Owns This Text?: Plagiarism, Authorship, and Disciplinary Cultures / Haviland. Mullin, 2009.
Critical evaluation of resources – a guide to assessing resources for academic suitability.
Writing for science and engineering: papers, presentations and reports / Heather Silyn-Roberts. 2013
Presentations - Posters & Data
Use this brief list to get started, go to Poster Presentations for more design and layout information.
1. PURPOSE of a poster = rapid, concise & visual communication of research.
2. PREPARE CONTENT = follow a template.
3. DESIGN your poster = choose a layout.
4. CONSTRUCT your poster = print it
5. PRESENT your poster = be clear, friendly, confident of your results.
Copyright, Open Access - Funding sources
• BRII. Berkeley Research Impact Initiative, funding for authors publishing in open access journals
• Copyright Resources & Regulations at UC Berkeley
• Copyright in Teaching, Research and Publishing. UC Berkeley Library
• OASIS. Open Access Scholarly Information Sourcebook
• UC Berkeley Library, Scholarly Communication. covers issues & new models.
• UC University of California Copyright information and links.
• California Digital Library, Data Management Guide; guidelines & tools to manage & preserve data