Integrative Biology

Access

On campus wireless access use: Airbears 2: wireless access on campus.

Off-campus access to many resources is limited to current UCB faculty, staff and students.
To access these resources from off-campus, please use one of the following:

Proxy Server
The proxy server is a computer on campus that will re-route your requests for licensed resources after authenticating you as a Berkeley student, faculty or staff member. You must configure your web browser in order to use it.

Proxy changes: Recent changes in the proxy server may have affected some users; see the Library's Proxy Server FAQ. iPhone, iPad, or iPod Touch proxy server setup instructions.

Virtual Private Network (VPN)
The VPN is a software program that will establish a "tunnel" to our campus network, allowing you to access a broader variety of licensed resources.

 

Article databases - IB

the following selected indexes offer broader searches or subject areas.

  • Academic Search Complete
    A multidisciplinary index to articles in 10,900+ journals and other publications in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese; full-text is available for over 5300 journals.
  • ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
    Indexes 5,000+ journals, books, reports, dissertations, conference proceedings, and other resources covering all aspects of marine, freshwater, and brackishwater environments environments. Subjects include aquaculture, conservation, meterology, oceanography, and wildlife management.
  • CAB Abstracts
    Indexes journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports, and other sources from the agricultural literature and from more than 100 countries. Covers topics such as biodiversity, biotechnology, pest control,environmental pollution, animal science, nutrition and food technology, crop production, natural resources, forestry, environmental policy, and rural development. A new archive of literature from 1910-1972 has just been added, combining 17 printed abstracts into a single database.
  • Cold Spring Harbor Monograph Archive
    A collection of 53 full-text scholarly monographs published by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press.
  • Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
    Indexes 6,000+ journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books, and government publications covering agricultural biotechnology, air quality, aquatic pollution, bacteriology, ecology, energy resources, environmental biotechnology, environmental engineering, environmental impact statements, hazardous waste, industrial hygiene, microbiology, pollution, risk assessment, safety science, toxicology, water pollution, waste management, and water resource issues. Includes 13 subfiles such as: Ecology Abstracts, Health and Safety Science Abstracts, Pollution Abstracts and Water Resources Abstracts.
  • Water Conditions (California Department of Water Resources)
    Provides data on water conditions in California including data on reservoir conditions, groundwater, water quality and water supply.

Article databases - core IB

The following selected databases include articles, conference proceedings, technical data and reports.  Click on the UC-eLinks button to access the full text of the article (if Berkeley has a subscription). ucelinks

  • BIOSIS Previews
    Indexes 6,000+ journals, books, and conference proceedings are indexed on a wide variety of biological and biomedical topics. An electronic version to the print counterparts, Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM.
  • GeoRef
    Indexes over 3,500 scholarly journals, books, maps, US and Canadian dissertations, conference proceedings, reports, and government documents published worldwide on geology and other subjects within the geosciences.
  • PubMed
    Access to citations from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, other journals in the field of medicine and life sciences, and links to NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
  • Web of Science
    Indexes over 8,000 of the leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences, providing searching of footnoted citations. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index.
  • Zoological Record
    Indexes about 6,000 journals and a wide range of monographic publications, providing comprehensive coverage of literature in all aspects of zoology including systematics, ecology, behavior, evolution and conservation.

Protocols

Use our licensed protocols databases to find recent novel protocols.  + Pubmed.
Nature Protocols, (listed under journals

  • Current Protocols
    Provides access to Current Protocols in Bioinformatics, Control Protocols in Field Analytical Chemistry, and others in the Current Protocols series.
  • Cold Spring Harbor Monograph Archive
    A collection of 53 full-text scholarly monographs published by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press.
  • Springer Protocols (BioMed Protocols)
    Online versions of Methods in Molecular Biology and Methods in Molecular Medicine. Content includes biochemistry, biotechnology, genetics, microbiology, molecular and cell biology, neuroscience, oncology, and proteomics.
Last Update: 19 Aug 16:58