Zotero

Creating a Bibliography

Setting your Citation Preferences

Before you create a bibliography, you should choose the citation style that you prefer to use. Click on the (gear icon) icon and choose Preferences. Under Export, choose an output style from the list.

list of output styles

 


Creating a Simple Bibliography From your Item List

Quick Copy - Select titles in your item list and drag and drop them into an open word processing file.

Right-Click to Create Bibliography - Select one or more items from the list you want  included in the bibliography and then right-click (or control-click on Macs) to select “Create Bibliography from Selected Item(s).”

right-click

Then select a citation style for your bibliography format and choose one of the following four ways to create your bibliography:

  • Save as RTF will allow you to save the bibliography as a rich text file.
  • Save as HTML will allow you to save the bibliography as a HTML file for viewing in a web browser. This format will also embed metadata allowing other Zotero users viewing the document to capture bibliographic information.
  • Save to Clipboard will allow you to save the bibliography to your clipboard to paste into any text field.
  • Print will send your bibliography straight to a printer.

 


 

Word Processor Integration

Installing the Zotero word processor plugin will allow you to insert citations as you are writing your paper using Microsoft Word or OpenOffice. After it is installed, a toolbar will be added to your word processing program. [In MS Word 2010, the toolbar appears in the Add-Ins tab.]

zotero toolbar

Insert a new citation in your document at the cursor location.
Edit an existing citation. You have to place the cursor inside the relevant citation before pressing this icon.
Insert a bibliography at the cursor location.
Edit an existing bibliography.
Refresh all citations and the bibliography, updating any item metadata that has changed in your Zotero library.
Open the Document Preferences window, e.g. to change the citation style.
Remove Zotero field codes from the document. When Zotero inserts a citation or bibliography, it does so by using a field code. This field code allows Zotero to later recognize and automatically update the citation or bibliography (e.g., in numeric styles, citations have often to be renumbered when additional items are cited). Removing the Zotero field codes prevents any further automatic updates of the citations and bibliographies.
Note that removing field codes is irreversible, and should usually only be done in a near-final copy of your document.

When creating your document, when you get to a point where you want to add a citation, click on the insert citation button in the toolbar and then search for the citation in your collection.

insert citation

To generate a bibliography from all of the items you have referenced, click the Zotero Insert Bibliography button.

 

 

Last Update: 11 Dec 12:16 | Tagged with: bibliographic management citation management zotero