RefWorks

Refworks: Databases

RefWorks: Academic Search Complete and other EBSCO databases

EBSCO databases include Academic Search Complete, America: History and Life, Business Source Complete, ERIC, Historical Abstracts, and many more.

In an EBSCO database:

  1. From the Search Results screen, select each reference you'd like to import into RefWorks by clicking Add to Folder.

    add to folder screenshot

  2. Click Go to Folder View on the right sidebar.
  3. Click the Select/deselect all checkbox. Click Export (right sidebar).
  4. On the next screen, choose Direct Export to RefWorks. Click the Save button.
  5. RefWorks will open automatically in a new window or tab. Log in to RefWorks.

In RefWorks:

  1. Your references should be imported automatically. Choose View Last Imported Folder to verify that your references were imported correctly.

Refworks: Google Scholar

Only one reference at a time can only be imported from Google Scholar into RefWorks. If you would like to import a large number of search results, we recommend using an article database to search.

Step 1: Go to scholar.google.com. Select the Settings link at the top of the page.

Google Scholar screenshot showing Settings link

Step 2: Scroll down to Bibliography Manager.

  1. Click the radio button for Show links to import citations into...
  2. Use the pull-down menu to select RefWorks.
  3. Click Save Preferences.

    screenshot of selecting RefWorks under Bibliography manager

Step 3: Now after you perform a search, there will be an Import into RefWorks link below each search result.

screenshot of link to import to RefWorks in scholar results

Step 4: When you click on this link, the RefWorks login page will open; once you have logged in, the citation will be automatically imported.

Refworks: JSTOR

In JSTOR:

  1. On the Search Results screen, select each reference you'd like to import into RefWorks by clicking the checkbox beside the item.
  2. Click Export.

    screenshot of the export link in JSTOR

  3. Under Select a Format, choose RefWorks.
  4. RefWorks will open in a new window or tab. You may need to allow pop-ups for jstor.org and click the RefWorks link again.
  5. Log in to RefWorks.

In RefWorks:

  1. Your references should be imported automatically. Choose View Last Imported Folder to verify that your references were imported correctly.

 

RefWorks: LexisNexis

In Lexis/Nexis:

  1. From the Search Results screen, select each reference you'd like to import into RefWorks by clicking the checkbox beside the item.
  2. Find and click the Export icon (lexis-nexis icon for import to RefWorks) near the top right corner of the screen (near the Save and Print icons).
  3. Under Export Type, choose Export using RefWorks (this should be the defalt option).

In RefWorks: The references will be imported automatically once you log in. You may need to edit the imported references to place information in the proper fields.

Refworks: ProQuest databases

ProQuest databases include MLA, Historical Newspapers, EconLit, PsycInfo, and many moreYou can create a My Research account in ProQuest and synchronize it with your RefWorks account.

In ProQuest:

  1. On the Search Results screen, select each reference you'd like to import into RefWorks by clicking the checkbox beside the item.
  2. Click Export/Save.

    screenshot of a ProQuest database

  3. Choose RefWorks from the pull-down menu.
  4. Click Continue.
  5. Refworks will automatically open in a new browser tab. Log in to RefWorks.

In RefWorks:

  1. Your references should be imported automatically. Choose View Last Imported Folder to verify that your references were imported correctly.

You can also watch a brief YouTube video for a demonstration:

video icon Importing References from ProQuest Databases to RefWorks


Refworks: PubMed

In PubMed:

  1. On the search results screen, use the checkboxes to select the citations you want to import to RefWorks, and then click on the Send to: menu. 
    Selected PubMed citations

  2. In the Send to: menu, choose Citation manager and then click Create File.

    PubMed Medline

  3. Save the .nbib file of citations to your desktop.

In RefWorks:

  1. In a new browser tab, open the RefWorks Login page and enter your user name and password, or sign up for an account if you are a new user.
  2. From the menu, choose References > Import.

    RefWorks menu

  3. Under Import From Text File, select Import Filter/Data Source: NLM PubMed and Database: PubMed. Then Browse to the location of the citation file, select it, and click the Import button.

    RefWorks import settings

  4. When the Import Completed dialogue box appears, click the View Last Imported Folder button to view your imported citations.

Video: video icon Importing records from PubMed to RefWorks

Refworks: Toxline (NLM)

In Toxline:

  1. On the Search Results screen, select each record you'd like to import into RefWorks by clicking the checkbox beside the item.
  2. On the left sidebar, click Save Checked Items.
  3. Click Display Checked Items.
  4. Click Download (left sidebar).
  5. Change the Download format to Tagged and click Download.
  6. You will be prompted to open or save the document (it will be a .txt file). Open the document.
  7. Open the document using Notepad (Windows) or TextEdit (Mac). Press Ctrl+A to select all text, then Ctrl+C to copy.
  8. Go to www.refworks.com and log in to your RefWorks account.
  9. Select References > Import. Select From Text.
  10. Paste your copied text from your text file (Ctrl+V). Change the Import Filter/Data Source to TOXNET. Change the Database to TOXLINE.
  11. Click Import.

Video:  Import NLM TOXLINE Citations into RefWorks

Refworks: Web of Science

BIOSIS is shown in the example below, but these instructions apply to any of the ISI Web of Knowledge databases (listed at the bottom of this section).

Importing single citations

  • On the Search Results screen, select the citations you want to import into RefWorks by selecting the checkboxes to the left of the appropriate citations.
  • Select the RefWorks button Refworks button above the search results list.
  • The RefWorks Login page should open in a new browser window or tab. If not, manually open a new browser window or tab, go to Refworks and select User Login.
  • Log in to your RefWorks account with your username and password. (If you are a new user, you may create an account from a link on this page.)
  • Once you have logged in, you should see the RefWorks Import page. Click View last imported folder to see your imported citations.

If you are performing multiple searches in a database you may want use the Marked List feature. This will allow you to efficiently export citations from multiple searches at one time.

  • On the Search Results screen, select the citations you want to import into RefWorks by selecting the checkboxes to the left of the appropriate citations.
  • Then choose the Marked List icon Marked list icon in Web of Science. A check mark will appear next to the citations you've chosen, and the number of records you've marked will appear as a link next to the icon.
  • Once you've finished building your citation list, select the Marked List link (in parentheses next to the icon). You will be taken to the Output Options screen:
    Marked list in Web of Science
  • On the Output Options page, leave the bold fields checked. Make sure the ISSN box is checked; this enables UC-eLinks UC-eLinks button to work from within your RefWorks account. Check the Abstract field if you want to include article abstracts in your RefWorks database.
  • Under Step 3 select the Refworks button:
    Save to refworks button in Web of Science
  • The RefWorks Login page should automatically open in a new browser window or tab. If not, manually open a new browser window or tab and go to Refworks and login.
  • From the Refworks Import page click View last imported folder to see your imported citations.
Web of Knowledge databases for which the above works:
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index
  • BIOSIS
  • CAB Abstracts
  • Inspec
  • Science Citation Index
  • Social Sciences Citation Index
  • Web of Science
  • Zoological Record
Video: icon for link to video Importing Records from ISI Web of Knowledge Databases to RefWorks (3 min)
Last Update: 05 Dec 14:35 | Tagged with: RefWorks citations research