Key Education Topics
To discover resources on the following top education topics, use the databases indicated.
Education Literature Intro
Top Three Databases.
The UC Libraries provide several index/databases for searching literature in education. The three primary education databases are ERIC, Education Index, and Educational Research Abstracts (ERA). Click the tabs above to find specific search tips for doing research with each database. Also, find several related psychology, social science and language/literacy databases under the "More Databases" or "Psychology" tabs above. Several of the related databases, such as PsycInfo, are searchable simultaneously with ERIC on the ProQuest platform.
ERIC, EdIndex and ERA all search for scholarly journal articles in education. There is some overlap among them with respect to journal coverage; however, each indexes some journal titles not covered by the others.
In addition, ERIC indexes Documents (known as "ERIC Documents") from hundreds of organizations producing education-related material. Document types include books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and school district documents. Organizations providing non-journal content to ERIC include research foundations, federal and state agencies, policy organizations, university affiliates, and commercial publishers.
ERA also searches ebooks and reference materials published by the Taylor & Francis Group, that includes Routledge, Psychology Press, CRC Press, and Garland Science,
Where to Find ERIC, EdIndex, and ERA.
All the primary education databases - ERIC, Ed Index, and ERA - and PsycInfo are linked from the EDP Library's homepage.