Tests & Data

Ebsco Test Tips

EbscoHost does not provide a tool for specifically searching for tests and measurements.  Instead, one must enter words such as "test", "scale",
 "instrument", "questionnaire" in a search box. 

For example, to search for tests or scales that measure depression, use the following approach to obtain targeted results.

Open the Social Work Abstracts database.

In the first search box, type "depression."  Select either the "TI Title" or "AB Abstract" choice from the drop down menu.

In the second search box, type "test*".  The asterisk is to retrieve all forms of the word "test." Select the "TX All Text" choice from the drop down menu.

In the third search box, type a synonym of the word "test", such as "scale*".  Other words that might produce good results would be "questionnaire" or "instrument."  Select the "TX All Text" choice from the drop down menu.

The search results will display records that concern the subject of depression and reference a specific test instrument.  The test may be used as the basis of the article or book or it may just be cited.

 

 

About Tests

Sites with test information.

The following websites provide information about testing and assessment.  These provide both background information and search tips.

  • APA's Statement on Psychological Tests. The Committee on Psychological Tests and Assessment (CPTA) statement on the use of psychological tests by graduate and undergraduate students.
  • APA on finding tests.
  • UT Austin Tests and Assessments Research Guide.
  • Western Psychological Services. Publisher of tests and assessments for psychologists.
  • CSA Test Tips

    CSA Illumina is one of the best search engines for searching tests and measurements.  When a database such as PsycInfo indexes materials according to test instruments used or cited, CSA can search directly for a test.  Unfortunately, neither Sociological Abstracts nor Social Services Abstracts index for tests.    All three databases, i.e., PsycInfo, Sociological Abstracts, and Social Services Abstracts can be searched with the CSA search engine by selecting the Multi EdPsyc link on both the Social Welfare and the Education Psychology Libraries webpages. 

    For example, to search for studies on depression that use or cite a test instrument, the following protocols produce targeted results. 

    To search the PsycInfo database, use the Multi EdPsyc link.

    In the first search box row, type "depression."  Select either the "TI Title" or "DE Descriptor" choice from the drop down menu.

    In the second search box row, type "test*" in the first box, "scale*" in the second box, and "questionnaire*" or "instrument*" in the third box.  The asterisk is to retrieve all forms of each word.  Select the "TM Tests and Measures" choice from the drop down menu.

    To search Sociological Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, and ERIC for articles and books that cite or use test instruments, perform these steps:

    First select these databases on the search engine screen.  Click on the word "show" on the line that says: Now Selected: Multiple Databases (show).  De-select all databases, except Sociological Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, and ERIC.

    In the first search box row, type "depression."  Select the "TI Title"  choice from the drop down menu.

    In the second search box row, type "test*" in the first box, "scale*" in the second box, and "questionnaire*" or "instrument*" in the third box. Select the "AB Abstracts" choice from the drop down menu.

    The search results will display records that concern the subject of depression and reference a specific test instrument.  The test may be used as the basis of the article or book or it may just be cited.

     

    Last Update: 03 Dec 18:20 | Tagged with: tests questionnaires scales data statistics scores measurement