Periodicals and Magazines
Jewish Review of Books
Quarterly publication- Leading writers and scholars discuss the newest books and ideas about religion, literature, culture, and politics, as well as fiction, poetry, and the arts. Current year printed editions available in the East Reading Room.
Jewish life, arts, and ideas. Tablet magazine runs new pieces each day, in addition to posts on its blog, The Scroll. It also produces weekly installments of its podcast, Vox Tablet.
Opinion pieces on Politics, Art, Religion and Culture in the Jewish experience. (revised Jewish Ideas Daily)
Exploring the "oddities" of Jewish culture- weekly newsletters including articles on Jewish food, Torah, history, holidays and reviews of new Jewish themed books.
The Jewish Daily Forward
Yiddish and English Newspaper with a wide range of coverage- News, Opinion, Blog, Video, and Podcast. Some back issues available through the Library- Newspapers & Microforms.
Sh'ma Journal of Jewish Ideas
E-zine and blog with collections of articles focusing on a weekly theme.
Scholarly Journals & Databases
Annually published online academic journal for new research in Talmud and Rabbinics. Pieces in Hebrew and English included for download and online viewing (pdf).
RAMBI (Index to Articles on Jewish Studies)
Selective bibliography of articles in Jewish Studies and the study of Eretz Israel. Compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library
Includes over 1000 scholarly journals with access to more than 2 million articles. JSTOR is an archive which means that current issues (generally the most recent 3-5 years) of the journals are not yet available. For more sophisticated search capabilities, go directly to JSTOR Jewish Studies. UCB access required.
Several hundred scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others.
Daily Newspaper available through Oskicat in Newspapers & Microforms as well as back issues.
Historical archives of the Palestine Post (1932-1950) and the Jerusalem Post (1950-Present) available in Microfilm through Oskicat.
Historical Jewish Press (National Library of Israel)
Easily searchable database of Israeli Newspapers. 45 Titles, 1843-1987.
Last Update: 20 Feb 11:53