Giving to the Ethnic Studies Library
The Ethnic Studies Library, Native American Studies Collection, welcomes gifts in all forms. Many private donors have made contributions toward the acquisition of research materials for the use of Berkeley faculty and students. This support is very important in sustaining the excellence of our collections and services. If you donate through Main campus library links you must specify your donation as directed to the Ethnic Studies Library or we will not recieve it.
The following types of gifts may be considered:
Memorial and Honorific Gifts
Contributions given in memory or in honor of a person are welcomed. Commemorative gifts are welcome to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries and other significant events.
Endowment funds may be established with a gift of $50,000 or more. These funds provide the Ethnic Studies library with an annual income in perpetuity and have a lasting impact on maintaining world class collections. The University invests its endowments carefully to achieve a healthy rate of return that provides for both current needs and long-term growth. If desired, a special book plate can be created and placed in each book.
Cash Gifts for Book Purchases
Contributions of any amount are welcomed and can be made directly to the Library using the online form. In the special instructions or designations for this gift section, you should specify Ethnic Studies Library in order for your gift to go to us.
Gifts of scholarly materials and the results of research have historically represented a significant element in the development of Berkeley's outstanding research collections. We welcome individual gifts, but due to space and staff limitations, we must be judicious in accepting large contributions. Donations of recently published books are welcomed. New book purchases will be checked to ensure titles aren’t already on order.
Please contact John Berry by e-mail: (JBerry "at" Library.berkeley.edu) or call (510-206-0796) to discuss your donation of Native American materials.
For more information on gifts to the Library, please visit http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/give/makeagift.html.
Collections - NAS
UC Berkeley's Native American Studies Collections are concentrated in the humanities and social sciences, housed in the Ethnic Studies Library, the Gardner (Main) Stacks of the Doe Library and the Anthropology Library. More specialized materials can be found in over 20 subject specialty libraries on campus, including Moffitt, Education-Psychology, Environmental Design, Public Health, Social Welfare, Music, and Law Libraries. In addition, the Bancroft Library’s holdings include manuscripts, photographs, and many first editions. The Collections are very strong in microfilm editions of important research materials, including United States Government Documents and other records, particularly those of organizations, such as the Indians Rights Association Papers and the John Collier Papers. For these holdings please see the Native American Studies Librarian, in the Ethnic Studies Library.
Ask a Librarian 24/7 Chat