Political Economy

Background Reference Sources

Before you begin your topic it 's a good idea to get a broad overview of your topic by doing background reading.  The following sources can help you get started.  See also the sections below on e-books and searching the libary catalogs (important).

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Reports and Profiles. Indexes studies that provide analysis and forecasts of the political, economic, and business environments in more than 180 countries. Annual profiles are updated by quarterly reports.

Europa World
. Provides political and economic information on over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (IESBS)
. The electronic version of the 26 volume IESBS set published in 2001. It contains over 3800 articles spread over 99 subject areas.

Oxford Reference Online - Politics and Social Sciences. Access to nine reference sources published by Oxford University Press on the topic of World History, Geography, Politics and Sociology. Search all sources collectively or search within an individual title.

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics. Comprehensive encyclopedia of economic thought, containing over 1000 articles by over 1,500 contributors, providing both a current overview of economics as well as classic essays.

Routledge Politics and International Relations Online
. Extensive ollection of reference books and encyclopedias from Routledge. Coverage includes globalization, international security, political thought, peace and conflict, political chronologies and more.

Catalogs & Search Engines

Find a book that matches your topic and go to the call number range to browse. Check the references and bibliography.

Google Scholar
. Functions as both a key word database for articles and books. It automatically connects to select licensed content held by the UC libraries. 

Google Books. Millions of scanned books worldwide.  Search the text of the books, view previews or "snippets" from books still in copyright, and read the full text of out-of-copyright books.  To read the text of a copyrighted book, use the Find in a Library link to locate the book at UC Berkeley or search OskiCat.

Oskicat. UC Berkeley libraries catalog. Includes records for most UCB library materials, including books, e-books, journal and e-journal titles, films and videos, maps, archival materials, and much more. See also the Quick Guide to Oskicat and Oskicat Tutorial.

Melvyl
. Catalog for all UC Campus libraries, including selected libraries on campus not in Oskicat, e.g. the Boalt Law Library. 

Ebooks in Politics & Economics

The UCB libraries have purchased several packages of ebooks from commercial vendors and university presses.  Ebooks may be located by searching in Oskicat and/or Melvyl but there may be delays loading ebook records into these catalogs. You may therfore wish to browse or search the following ebook packages, which  many contain ebooks in economics and finance.

ebrary. Our largest e-book collection, with over 50,000 titles on a wide range of subjects. Find them in OskiCat (keyword: ebrary) or search the ebrary website directly. Some advanced ebrary features require downloading reader software.

Goldsmith's-Kress Library of Economic Literature. Collection of e-books from 1460-1850, and 466 pre-1906 serials. Focuses on economics and includes collections on banking, finance, and manufacturing. Combines the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London, and the Kress Library of Business and Economics at the Harvard Graduate School of Business Administration, along with materials from the Seligman Collection at Columbia University and libraries at Yale.

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)  The National Bureua of Economic Research (NBER) is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. Research is conducted by more than 600 university professors around the country, the leading scholars in their fields. This database includes historical ebooks dating from the 1990s, but most current ebooks are not available.

OECD iLibrary. Full-text publications and data from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), including country studies, forecasting publications, reports, socioeconomic datasets, and an interactive Health data database. The statistics sections include data in international trade, telecommunications, foreign aid, migration, and many other categories. From 1983 to the present.

Oxford Scholarship Online. Cross-searchable library containing the full text of books in many subjects, including politcs, economics and finance from 2008 to present.

Palgrave Connect: Economics and Finance Collections.  Contains Palgrave ebooks in economics and finance as well as business and management from 2006 to present. Palgrave is one of the premier commercial book publishers in economics.

Springer Electronic Book Package. Thousands of e-books the commerical publisher Springer. in several of the social sciences, including Business and Economics as well as  Mathematics and Statistics and more. These e-books are also listed in Melvyl.

UC Press E-Books Collection (eScholarship Editions). Online titles from the University of California Press - about 30% of the UC Press books, both in print and out-of-print are represented in this collection. Click on By Subject, for a title list by subject. Titles are viewable online but cannot be downloaded. Date coverage is from 1999 - 2004.

Wiley Online Library Ebook Collection. Books from 2011 to present, including books in politics and economics.  Like Springer (see above) this ebook portal also offers access to Wiley electronic journals.

World Bank e-Library. Full-text World Bank publications from mid 1990's to present. Topics covered include: economics and finance, public policy, education, international development, technology, poverty, gender, and more.

Last Update: 02 Sep 00:57