Political Economy

US Government Information

ProQuest Congressional. One stop shopping for U.S. congressional publications. Provides index and abstracts of congressional publications back to 1789, including full text Congressional Hearings from 1824-present, full text Committee Prints from 1830-present, full text Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports from 1916-present, full text United States Congressional Serial Set from 1789-1969, and legislative histories from 1970-present. For more information on how to find hearings, consult the Congressional Tutorials homepage

American Presidency ProjectContains all major publications of the U.S. Office of the President, including: Public Papers of the President, Inaugural Addresses, Executive Orders, Signing Statements, and other information such as radio addresses, party platforms, videos of debates, and popularity polling data. This project was developed by two political science professors at UCSB.

Catalog of US Government Publications. Indexes government documents printed by the US Government Printing Office since July 1976; documents include Congressional committee hearings, congressional debates and records, judiciary material, documents issued by departments such as Defense, State, Labor, and the Office of the President. Also includes links to Federal agency online resources.

CQ Electronic Library. A reference source on American politics and government that includes the following modules: CQ Congress Collection, CQ Political Handbook of the World, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, CQ Supreme Court, CQ Voting and Elections, CQ Washington Information Directory, CQ Weekly. Access individual modules or search across all CQ collections.

CQ Voting and Elections Collection. Offers documents and data, authoritative analyses, background information and definitions, chronology, and historical material related to specific elections (Congressional,presidential, and gubernatorial) and the electoral process in America. A data set of voting/election statistics is available for exporting/downloading. Part of the CQ Electronic Library collection.

CQ MoneyLine. Provides tracking of the flow of money in politics at the federal level with some state information from 1980 to the present. Enables tracking of contributions from Political Action Committees (PACs), individual donors to politicians, elected officials, and party committees; follow soft money through 527 groups, and retrieve information on thousands of lobbyists, indexed by client and issue.

DDRS (Declassified Documents Reference System). Over 75,000 documents and almost 500,000 pages of materials declassified via the Freedom of Information Act and regular declassification requests, making broad-based and highly targeted investigation of government documents possible. Nearly every major foreign and domestic event of these years is covered.

Metavid. A searchable archive of video from the United States House and Senate Floor Debates captured though C-SPAN, from 2006 to the present. Can be searched by topic/subject keyword or person. Video can also be freely downloaded by anyone.

Oyez ProjectA multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States and its work. Contains all audio recorded in the Court since the installation of a recording system in October 1955, and summaries of major cases going back to the courts founding. The Project also provides biographical information on all justices and offers a virtual reality 'tour' of portions of the Supreme Court building, including the chambers of some of the justices.

International Government Information

The government documents collections at the UC Berkeley libraries are comprised of collection of primary source documents from all over the world. See the Government Information Pages for more information.

To get started finding International Governmental Organization (IGO) Information you may wish to try the following IGO Custom Search Engine, which was initiated by David Oldenkamp, International Documents Librarian at Indiana University, and searches 392 urls of International Governmental Organizations (IGOs).

The following topical and subject guides may also be of special interest for this class:

Global Issues on the UN Agenda. Excellent UN Ready Reference tool for links to online documents, agencies, and other resources on a wide range of important topics on the UN Agenda.

Guide to the British Parliamentary Papers. Research guide to finding information from the British Parliament, See especially the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers database.

International Organizations & Activism. Guide to he economic, environmental, and human rights issues surrounding international financial institutions (IFIs). Includes links to international financial organizations, as well as activist groups and a select bibliography.

International Organizations, Economic Development & Poverty. Comprehensive guide to International Organizations, Development & Poverty.

International Organizations, Health & HIV/AIDS. Guide to International Organizations working in the field of Public Health.

International Organizations, Population & Migration. Research guide on International Organizations, Population & Migration topics.

International Organizations, Women & Gender. Guide to International Organizations working in the area of Women & Gender issues.

International Trade & Financial Institutions. Outline of information resources from international financial institutions, e.g. Bretton Woods Organizations and regional development banks.

Introduction to Globalization. Research guide to issues surrounding globalization.

UNBISnet. Most comprehensive database for UN documents & publications, from the United Nations Dag Hammarskjöld Library. Includes speeches, voting records, and resolutions. Full text from 1993, bibliographic records from 1979.

World Bank Research Guide. Comprehensive guide for researching the world bank. See also the research guide to the International Monetary Fund.

United Nations Internet Resources. Comprehensive research guide for the United Nations by subject and organizational structure

NonGovernmental Organizations (NGOs)

The amount of information on Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs) on the Internet is large so locating NGO information by subject or geography can be difficult. The following links and  the NGO search engine below may help. 

NGO Custom Search Engine

This search engine was developed by David Oldenkamp at Indiana University and James Jacobs at Stanford. The site seaches NGOs with Consultative Status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council and other NGO directories on the Internet.

Directory of Development Organizations. Over 47,000 organizations of all kinds listed by region and country. One of the most extensive compilation of NGO country directories.

Idealist.Org. Includes a searchable directory of over 52,000 organizations by name, mission, country of focus, and more.

Non-Governmental Organizations Research Guide (Duke University). Guide enabling users to browse NGOs by issue, region, and affiliation.

TakingITGlobal
. International non-profit organization centered on young people interested in connecting across cultures. Outstanding source of NGO information by country and area of focus. Go to browse organizations.

Last Update: 02 Sep 00:57