Political Economy

Data Lab

Data LabThe Data Lab, located in Doe Annex 189 (floor plan), provides access to a growing collection of electronic data files and analytical software such as MS Excel, SAS, SPSS, Stata, and DataFerret. Data Lab staff can help you locate, retrieve, and use computer-readable, numeric data. Check their hours page for more information. 

The Data Lab has also created a Google Custom Search that targets 800+ academic, government agency, non-profit, and other web sites that provide high quality, downloadable statistical information and data sets. Emphasis is on data pertaining to the social sciences, health, developing countries, energy, natural resources, and the environment.

Google Custom Search

Statistics & Data in Political Economy

American Factfinder (U.S. Census Bureau).  Interactive database used to find population, housing, industry and business statistics from the U.S. Census.. Allows users to compile census data into tables, maps and downloadable files, which can be viewed or printed.

CEIC Global. Database of over 400,000 time series covering a growing list of countries in Asia, Europe, and the Americas. Data items include: National Accounts, Industrial, Sales, Construction-Property, Demographic-Labor, Domestic and Foreign Trade, Stock Markets, Banking, Inflation, Monetary, Forex, Investment, and more.

CQ Voting and Elections Collection. Documents and data, authoritative analyses, background information and definitions, chronology, and historical material related to specific elections and the electoral process in America. A data set of voting/election statistics is available for downloading. Part of the CQ Electronic Library collection.

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Reports. Indexes studies that provide analysis and forecasts of the political, economic, and business environments in more than 180 countries. Annual profiles are updated by quarterly reports.

Field Poll
.  An independent, non-partisan, media-sponsored public opinion news service. Each year the poll covers a wide range of political and social topics examining California public opinion.

Gallup Brain
. Provides over 60 years of public opinion poll data from the Gallup Organization. It also offers the latest poll analyses, news stories and press releases linked to the surveys.

Global Financial Data (GFD). Contains long runs of historical data (over 6,000 series) and macroeconomic trends for over 150 countries: financials, interest rates, exchange rates and more.  Includes online encyclopedias that describe each dataset.

International Financial Statistics (IFS). From the International Monetary Fund (IMF). Includes data on exchange and interest rates, balance of payments, government finance, national accounts, prices, foreign reserves, and more. Use the concept view under query builder.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
. Consortium of institutions working to acquire and preserve social science data. Maintained at University of Michigan, ICPSR receives, processes, and distributes data on social phenomena in 130 countries. Includes survey data, census records, election returns, economic data, and legislative records.

OECD iLibrary.  Publications and statistical data from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), including country studies, reports, and datasets. Statistics includes data for international trade, telecommunications, foreign aid, migration, and other categories.

Proquest Statistical Datasets. Access to data points from local, state and international governments and organizations. Allows for customization of the data by selecting subjects, variable of interest, and the ability to view your data in side-by-side tables, charts and maps.

Proquest Statistical Insight. Provides access to indexing and statistical tables from three key sources: American Statistics Index (ASI; 1973-present), Statistics Reference Index (SRI; 1980-present), and Index to International Statistics (IIS; 1983-present). The American Statistics Index links to many full text documents published 1994-present.

PRS Group Country Data. Political risk data for 140 countrie from 1980, as well as macroeconomic data and Political Risk Services (PRS) forecasting on bureaucracy, corruption, civil disorders, ethnic tensions, poverty, inflation, terrorism, and other metrics. Political risk forecasting includes ratings on debt, investment risk, exchange controls, tariff barriers, trade restrictions, domestic economic problems etc.

RAND California
.  Statistics on business & economics; population and demographics; education; community; health & socioeconomic; government finance; census; politics & public opinion. Also includes an online index to RAND public policy and research publications.

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research.  Domestic and international survey data. The Center's Public Opinion Location Library (iPOLL) gives online access to a database including poll questions asked in US from 1936 to present.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
.  From the U.S. Census Bureau. Contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States as well as selected international data. 1878 - present.

VoteWorld
. From the UC Berkeley Institute for Governmental Studies, London School of Economics, and the Université Libre de Bruxelles. Includes data from the European Parliament and US Congress. Please make an appointment in the library data lab if you need assistance.

Votes in the UN General Assembly
. UN General Assembly votes from 1946-2005, from Eric Voeten, George Washington University. Please make an appointment in the library data lab for assistance if needed for this.

World Development Indicators. From the World Bank. Time series data from 1960 for 207 countries in the areas of population, labour, education, economics, the environment and much more.

Economic Data Visualization

Datamasher. Mashups of government data about states. Helps citizens see how states compare on important issues. Users can combine different data sets in interesting ways and create custom rankings by state.

Census CD neighborhood change database. (Geolytics). Contains nation-wide tract-level data from the 1970, 1980, 1990 and 2000 decennial censuses. Combines U.S. Bureau of the Census data into one product with variables and tract boundaries consistently defined across census years.

Gapminder. Non-profit venture promoting sustainable global development and achievement of the United Nations Millennium Development Goals. Access and cross-tabulate 200 statistical time series.  See espcially Gapminder World and this video from co-founder Hans Rosling's 200 Countries, 200 Years, 4 Minutes.

Google Public Data Explorer.  Makes large datasets easy to explore, visualize and communicate. Includes visualizations for data from the World Bank, OECD, Eurostat, the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) and more.

Many Eyes
. Enables users to upload data for visualization and employ tools to generate interactive displays. Includes thousands of user-generated and public domain data visualizations (not all of which are reliable). From IBM.

National Historical Geographic Information System, Contains aggregare U.S. census data and GIS boundary files for each census from 1790 to 2000.

OECD Factbook eXplorer
. interactive tool for analysing the OECD country statistical
profiles for a variety of major economic, social and environmental indicators.

PolicyMap. US demographic and socioeconomic data indicators from the neighborhood census block to national levels: data on demographics, neighborhood conditions, real estate, income, jobs, education, crime, and health can be presented as maps, tables, charts and reports.

SimplyMap
. Requires user registration. Enables non-technical users to quickly create professional quality thematic maps and reports using extensive demographic, business and other data.

Social Explorer. Current and historical census data and other demographic information, such as religious organizations. Web interface lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze and  demographic and social change

Last Update: 02 Sep 00:57