Development Studies

Resources on Poverty

Human Development Report Library. The web site includes the UNDP flagship publication the Human Development Report, as well as national human development reports from over 250 countries and regions.

IFAD Operations Database. Portal of projects and programmes on poverty issues affecting countries world wide. From the International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD). Search menu is on the lower left.

Least Developed Countries Report. Report on economic and social conditions of the UNs Least Developed Countries.

Microfinance Gateway. From CGAP (Consultative Group to Assist the Poor) a consortium of public and private development agencies working together to provide access to financial services for the poor in developing countries.

Rural Poverty Portal. Portal from the International Fund for Agricultural development on a wide range of poverty issues, country reports and development strategies, from international agencies world wide, including development banks and other international organizations.

World Bank & Poverty Reduction. Gateway to World Bank Poverty measurement, analysis and reduction strategies. Includes topical and country listings as well as data on poverty and inequality.

United Nations Research Institute for Social Development (UNRISD). UN agency conducting research on the social dimensions of world development. Includes hundreds of documents on a wide range of social development issues.

World Bank E-library (UCB Access Only). Database for hundreds of full-text World Bank publications. Topics covered include economics, public policy, education, international development, gender, the environment, and more.

World Bank Country Information. Web portal of World Bank publications by country. See also the World Bank Country Study series of reports.  In the online catalogs do a series search for world bank country study

Development & Aid

To find reviews and other reports documenting flows of foreign assistance from countries with significant foreign assistance plans, do a subject search in Oskicat or Melvyl :

economic assistance, british
economic assistance, canadian africa
economic assistance, japanese developing countries
economic assistance, american asia

See also the UC Berkeley library research guide on the International Monetary Fund, the World Bank and International Trade and Financial Institutions. See also the secion on regional organizations (development banks) below.

AccessUNDP. Index to the United Nations Development Programme Project Reports by UN headquarters between the years 1972-1998. Most are in the UNDP microfiche collection (GREF  Microfiche 24773). Scroll down to locate the database.

Asian Development Bank. Information on loans, investment, and technical assistance to developing member countries for a broad range of development projects and programs.

IMF Country Policy Intention Documents.  IMF documents prepared by countries outlining policy intentions for use of Fund resources or staff-monitored programs.See also IMF Article IV Staff Reports.

OECD iLibrary. Leading International Organization for Foreign Aid data, as well as statistical databases on External Debt Statistics and Geographical Distribution of Financial Aid Flows to Developing Countries.

U.S. Overseas Loans and Grants (Green Book). Loans and grants from the US government each fiscal year by purpose and country. HC60 U53344: Main - Latest in Doe Ref-Gov/Stat.

United Nations Research Institute for Social Development (UNRISD). UN agency conducting research on the social dimensions of world development. Includes hundreds of documents on a wide range of social development issues.

USAID Documents. Online resource for USAID international development, with thousands documents available for download. Database is browseable by country and by subject.

World Bank Project Documents. Full-text of World Bank project reports, including evaluation reports, working papers, and project appraisals

Last Update: 31 Aug 22:52