Development Studies

Development Statistics

Africa Development Indicators.  Detailed collection of data on Africa, containing over 1,600 indicators, covering 53 African countries from 1961 to 2008. Data include social, economic, financial, natural resources, infrastructure, governance, partnership, and environmental indicators.

AIDSInfo Online. From the Joint UN Programme on HIV/AIDS. Includes data and estimates on AIDS and HIV infections worldwide, and other associated variables, from the 1990's.

China Data Online. Focuses on economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories. Includes monthly and yearly reports on China's macroeconomic development and statistical databases about China's population and economy at the county and city levels.

FAOSTAT. Extensive data on agriculture, food supply, food security, prices, commodities, forest products, and fisheries from the FAO.

Genderstats. Indicators on key gender topics. Themes included are demographics, education, health, labor force, and political participation. From the World Bank.

Global Health Observatory Data Repository. Statistical and epidemiological data from the World Health Organization (WHO). Statistics by disease and condiation (HIV/AIDS, Tuberculosis, epidemics) as well as information on health systems, nutrition. injuries and violence, environmental health, tobacco and more. 

Human Development Report Statistics. Statistics from the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP). Links to the text of national human development reports from over 250 countries and regions.

Indiastat.  Statistical data from Indian government and private sources: finance, agriculture, health, housing, transportation, and many other areas. Data is derived from documents, reports and policies from the states and national government of India. Information is classified into 30 major sections and includes census data. Userid and password required. Please inquire at any Library Reference Desk for assistance.

Laborsta. International labor statistics from 1979 to the present on employment, earnings, wages, strikes and more. 

Lexis Nexis Statistical DataSets. Provides fast and easy one-stop shopping to more than 5.3 billion (and growing) data points from licensed and public domain datasets. Sources of data include local, state and international governments and organizations.

Official Statistics on the Web. Access to social, economic and general data from official government sources.  Includes statistical offices, central banks and government agencies. Features a good subject list.

OECD iLibrary. Leading International Organization for foreign aid data. Includes International Development Statistics as well as statistical databases on financial aid to developing countries. Choose the "international development" link on the statistics section.

UNCTADStat. From the United Nations Conference on Trade & Development. See also the World Investment Directory, which offers FDI data by country.

UN Data. Wide range of economic, social, cultural, and demographic indicators: population, environment, health, economics, technology, trade, refugees, and more.

Urbaninfo. Statistical data on urban indicators, human settlements, and city profiles worldwide from the United Nations Human Settlements Programme. Database is difficult to use, not all indicators listed are available for every geography, 

U.S. Overseas Loans and Grants (Green Book). Loans and grants from the US government each fiscal year by purpose and country.

World Development Indicators. Time series data from 1960 for 207 countries in the areas of population, labour, education, economics, the environment and much more.

World Income Inequality Database. Information for over 140 countries on income inequalities at both cross-country and time series levels over the period 1950-98, with a focus on the period since 1980. See also the University of Texas Income Inequality Project.

Last Update: 31 Aug 22:52