Development Studies

Background Country Information

Unless you are familiar with the historical information of a region it is a good idea to get background information on your topic.   Here are some sample sources.  Many more are available in the Doe Library reference section. Go to Oskicat, do a search by country or continent and select "Doe Reference" as the location from the pull-down menu.

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Reports and Profiles. Indexes studies that provide analysis and forecasts of the political, economic, and business environments in more than 180 countries. Annual profiles are updated by quarterly reports.

Europa World. Excellent source for concise economic, social and political background information on individual countries. 

Human Development Report Library. The web site includes the UNDP flagship publication the Human Development Report, as well as national human development reports from over 250 countries and regions

Library of Congress Country Studies. Description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.

Routledge Politics and International Relations Online. Extensive ollection of reference books and encyclopedias from Routledge. Coverage includes globalization, international security, political thought, peace and conflict, political chronologies and more.

International Government Information

The government documents collections at the UC Berkeley libraries are comprised of collection of primary source documents from all over the world. See the Government Information Pages for more information.

To get started finding International Governmental Organization (IGO) Information you may wish to try the following IGO Custom Search Engine, which was initiated by David Oldenkamp, International Documents Librarian at Indiana University, and searches 392 urls of International Governmental Organizations (IGOs).

The following topical and subject guides may also be of special interest for this class:

Global Issues on the UN Agenda. Excellent UN Ready Reference tool for links to online documents, agencies, and other resources on a wide range of important topics on the UN Agenda.

Guide to the British Parliamentary Papers. Research guide to finding information from the British Parliament, See especially the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers database.

International Organizations & Activism. Guide to he economic, environmental, and human rights issues surrounding international financial institutions (IFIs). Includes links to international financial organizations, as well as activist groups and a select bibliography.

International Organizations, Economic Development & Poverty. Comprehensive guide to International Organizations, Development & Poverty.

International Organizations, Health & HIV/AIDS. Guide to International Organizations working in the field of Public Health.

International Organizations, Population & Migration. Research guide on International Organizations, Population & Migration topics.

International Organizations, Women & Gender. Guide to International Organizations working in the area of Women & Gender issues.

International Trade & Financial Institutions. Outline of information resources from international financial institutions, e.g. Bretton Woods Organizations and regional development banks.

Introduction to Globalization. Research guide to issues surrounding globalization.

UNBISnet. Most comprehensive database for UN documents & publications, from the United Nations Dag Hammarskjöld Library. Includes speeches, voting records, and resolutions. Full text from 1993, bibliographic records from 1979.

World Bank Research Guide. Comprehensive guide for researching the world bank. See also the research guide to the International Monetary Fund.

United Nations Internet Resources. Comprehensive research guide for the United Nations by subject and organizational structure

NonGovernmental Organizations (NGOs)

The amount of information on Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs) on the Internet is large so locating NGO information by subject or geography can be difficult. The following links and  the NGO search engine below may help. 

NGO Custom Search Engine

This search engine was developed by David Oldenkamp at Indiana University and James Jacobs at Stanford. The site seaches NGOs with Consultative Status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council and other NGO directories on the Internet.

Directory of Development Organizations. Over 47,000 organizations of all kinds listed by region and country. One of the most extensive compilation of NGO country directories.

Idealist.Org. Includes a searchable directory of over 52,000 organizations by name, mission, country of focus, and more.

Non-Governmental Organizations Research Guide (Duke University). Guide enabling users to browse NGOs by issue, region, and affiliation.

TakingITGlobal
. International non-profit organization centered on young people interested in connecting across cultures. Outstanding source of NGO information by country and area of focus. Go to browse organizations.

Last Update: 31 Aug 22:52