Development Studies

Development Studies Databases

Below are selected article databases indexing the literature (books, articles, reports, government documents etc) in development and international studies.  See also the section below on history databases for obtaining historical country information as well as a selection of highly cited journals in the field.

Africa-Wide NiPAD. A comprehensive database covering journals, magazines, newspapers, broadcasts, books and more on all aspects of Africa including politics, history, economics, literature, music and natural sciences. Combines the databases previously known as African Studies and South African Studies.

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS). Over 500,000 citations to journal articles, books, and conference proceedings worldwide on the countries, histories, and cultures of East, South, and Southeast Asia.

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online). Indexes journals, books, policy briefs, working papers, and conference proceedings from research institutes worldwide related to international affairs analysis and advocacy materials. Also includes links to international affairs Internet sources.

Elsevier Geography
Indexes over 2000 journals, monographs, books, conference proceedings, and theses covering the international literature in physical and human geography, as well as international development issues.

Google Scholar. This search engine functions as both a key word database for articles and books. It automatically connects you to some licensed content held by the UC libraries. Search this source before all others.

Handbook of Latin American Studies. Indexes books, journals and proceedings to create an annual bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars, alternating between focusing on the humanities and the social sciences.

Index Islamicus. Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS). Indexes over 3000 journals, books, chapters, and book reviews in the fields of economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology from more than 100 countries. More than 70 languages are represented, with 30% percent of records published in languages other than English. (Search all CSA/Illumina Social Sciences databases.)

PAIS International and PAIS Archive. Indexes books, journals, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide. Includes publications from over 120 countries. Some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The Archive covers English-language material only. (Search all CSA/Illumina Social Sciences databases.)

Web of Science. Indexes over 8,000 of the leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences, providing searching of footnoted citations. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index. For more guidance on using this database see the following tutorials: Creating Alerts and Creating an RSS Feed.

Women's Studies International. Indexes books, journals, magazines, and other resources related to research and commentary on women and women's issues, feminism, and gender.

Read more

History Databases

The following databases are useful for finding academic articles in history journals. See also ths section below on selected primary resource databases useful for uncovering original (primary sources) such as newspapers and government information dealing with empire and the legacy of colonialism.   

America: History and Life. Indexes over 2,000 journals published worldwide on the history of the US and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes all key English-language historical journals; selected historical journals from major countries, state, and local history journals; and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities.

Bibliography of British and Irish History. Covers historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available. To access database, click on Enter databases, then click on Bibliography of British and Irish History

Bibliography of Slavery and World Slavery. Searchable database of references to scholarly works in all disciplines and western European languages on slavery and slaving throughout the world. It includes most known print and digital materials published since 1900 covering historical and modern times.

Historical Abstracts. Indexes over 2,000 journals, as well as historical book reviews and dissertations, published worldwide about all aspects of world history (excluding US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles covered were written from 1954 to the present

JSTOR. Includes over 1000 scholarly journals with access to more than 2 million articles. JSTOR is an archive which means that current issues (generally the most recent 3-5 years) of the journals are not yet available.

Periodicals Archive Online (formerly PCI Full Text)An online periodical archive that provides access to some 475 digitized journals in the humanities and social sciences. A sister database, Periodicals Index Online, provides additional indexing for articles in over 4,700 periodicals.

Project MUSE.Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others.

Development Studies Journals

The following is a selection of highly cited journals in development studies.  If looking for articles to support your research try doing a combined keyword and journal title(s) search in one of the databases listed above. The following entries link directly to the ejournal if all the content is online, and to the Oskicat record if some issues are print only or supplied on multiple platforms.

World Development. Examines solutions to poverty, unemployment, malnutrition, disease, lack of shelter, environmental degradation, debt, gender, ethnic discrimination, civil conflict, and lack of participation in economic and political life.

Journal of Development Studies.  Oldest journal in the field of development studies, publishing interdisciplinary articles on development relating economics, politics, public policy, and practice. 

Oxford Development Studies.  Provides a forum for critical analysis of conventional theories and policy issues in all aspects of development, includuing economics, history, politics, anthropology, and sociology.

Development Policy Review. Covers poverty-reduction strategies, inequality and social exclusion, property rights, sustainable livelihoods, globalisation in trade and finance, and the reform of global governance. Edited by the Overseas Development Institute.

Studies in Comparative International Development.  Addresses political, social, economic, and environmental change, including political institutions, economic growth and income distribution, and the transformation of social structure and culture.

Development and Change.  Interdisciplinary journal known for publishing unconventional analyses in the field of development studies and social change, covering a range of topics from all persuasions concerned with development.

Journal of International Development.  Research on development issues in economics, politics, international relations, sociology, anthropology, and development studies, focusing on transitional and underdeveloped areas.

Information Technology for Development. Research on the effects of Information Technology on economic, social and human development, in public administration, economics, and international development. Published in association with UNESCO.

Development.   "Provides dialogue between activists and intellectuals committed to the search for alternative paths of social transformation towards a more sustainable and just world."  From the Society for International Development.

Third World Quarterly. Examines emergng issues affecting the developing world beyond strict “development studies,” providing analysis of grassroot efforts of development practitioners and planners across Africa, Asia, Latin American and the Middle East.

Read more
Last Update: 31 Aug 22:52