Film Studies

Film Studies Reference Sources: A Selective Guide

Film Reference Sources : A Selective Guide, by the Media Resources Center.

Biography (Electronic)

  • Great Directors - a Critical Database
    Critical essays on the life of work of notable international film directors (part of the electronic journal Senses of Cinema). Essays include filmographies and bibliographies, links to related web resources, and numerous still images from works of the director profiled.
  • Internet Movie Database
    A database of more than 120,000 movies. Includes biographical records (including complete filmographies) for close to 200,000 individuals involved in international film and television industries. The Glossary includes definitions of terms and phrases frequently used in the world of movies, film, acting, and cinema-going. The Box Office Summary lists the weekly summary of top-grossing US films and also includes a year-to-date archive of top-grossing US films and listings of top-grossing international films. The database also provides links to Top-Grossing Rentals.

Biography (Print)

Doyle, Billy H. The Ultimate Directory of Film Technicians: a Necrology of Dates and Places of Births and Deaths of More Than 9,000 Producers, screenwriters, Composers, Cinematographers, Art Directors, Costume Designers, Choreographers, Executives, and Publicists. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1999. Main Stack PN1998.2.D688 1999

Halliwell's Who's Who in the Movies. Leslie Halliwell; edited by John Walker. 14th ed. New York: Harper Resource, c2001. Brief entries cover personal names of actors, directors, writers, and cinematographers, plus a few screen characters. Entries include film themes, styles, technique, and subjects. Use this for short-fact reference and biographical material. Media Center PN1993.45 .H3 2001

International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers. 4th ed. Detroit: St. James Press, c2000.Doe Reference PN1997.8.I58 2000

Thomson, David. The New Biographical Dictionary of Film. 4th ed. New York: Knopf, 2002. Media Center PN1998.2.T49 2002

Tibbetts, John C. The Encyclopedia of Filmmakers. New York : Facts on File, c2002. Doe Reference PN1998.2.T53 2002

Statistics and Numeric Data

  • Box Office Guru
    Box office data on over 25,000 motion pictures released between 1989 and the present. Also includes tables of all-time top-grossing films.
  • Internet Movie Database
    A database of more than 120,000 movies. Includes biographical records (including complete filmographies) for close to 200,000 individuals involved in international film and television industries. The Glossary includes definitions of terms and phrases frequently used in the world of movies, film, acting, and cinema-going. The Box Office Summary lists the weekly summary of top-grossing US films and also includes a year-to-date archive of top-grossing US films and listings of top-grossing international films. The database also provides links to Top-Grossing Rentals.
  • The Numbers
    Yearly, daily, and weekly charts of top-grossing films in the U.S. and abroad. Also includes tables of all-time top-grossing films.
  • Worldwide Box Office
    International box office statistics for selected films 1899-2004. Statistics are for gross movie ticket sales only (they do not include video, television, or merchandising).

Dictionaries (Electronic)

  • Internet Movie Database
    A database of more than 120,000 movies. Includes biographical records (including complete filmographies) for close to 200,000 individuals involved in international film and television industries. The Glossary includes definitions of terms and phrases frequently used in the world of movies, film, acting, and cinema-going. The Box Office Summary lists the weekly summary of top-grossing US films and also includes a year-to-date archive of top-grossing US films and listings of top-grossing international films. The database also provides links to Top-Grossing Rentals.

Encyclopedias and Almanacs (Electronic)

  • Internet Movie Database
    A database of more than 120,000 movies. Includes biographical records (including complete filmographies) for close to 200,000 individuals involved in international film and television industries. The Glossary includes definitions of terms and phrases frequently used in the world of movies, film, acting, and cinema-going. The Box Office Summary lists the weekly summary of top-grossing US films and also includes a year-to-date archive of top-grossing US films and listings of top-grossing international films. The database also provides links to Top-Grossing Rentals.

Encyclopedias and Almanacs (Print)

Encyclopedia of Film Directors in the United States of America and Europe. Edited by Alfred Krautz. Munchen; New Providence : K.G. Saur, 1993 Main Stack PN1998.E49 1993

Encyclopedia of Film Themes, Settings, and Series. Richar B. Armstrong and Mary Willems Armstrong. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 2001. Doe Reference PN1997.8 .A762 2001

Fernett, Gene American Film Studios: An Historical Encyclopedia Main PN1993.5.U6 F45 1988  Moffitt PN1993.5.U6 F45 1988

Katz, Ephraim. The Film Encyclopedia. 4th ed. New York: Harper Perennial, c2001. Doe Reference PN1993.45 .K34 2001 Media Center PN1993.45 .K34 2001

Magills' Survey of Cinema.
Provides essay-length reviews of roughly 3,000 films. "Consists of several distinct parts: English language films are covered in two A-Z series, the first of four volumes published in 1980 and the second in six volumes published in 1981; silent films comprise three volumes (1982), foreign language films eight volumes (1985), and current films are covered in Magill's Cinema Annual, which began in 1982 and serves as a continuing update to the set. Articles on each film include a plot summary, critical notes on directing, acting, screen writing, cinematography, and the film's place in the history of its genre.

  • English Language Film:
    Media Center PN1995.M3 Library has: 1-4
    Doe Reference PN1995.M3 V.1-4 (C1980); second series PN1995.M32 V.1-6 (1981)
  • Foreign Language Film:
    Media Center PN1995.M335 1985 Library has: v. 1-8
    Doe Reference PN1993.45.M34 1985 Library has: v. 1-8 (c1985)
  • Silent Film:
    Media Center PN1995.M34 1982 Library has: v.1-3
    Doe Reference PN1997.8.M3 Library has: V.1-3 (1982)

The New York Times Encyclopedia of Film.
Media Center PN1993.45.N4 1984 Library has: v. 1-13 (c1984)Index: vol. 13.
Facsimiles of articles appearing in the New York Times 1896-1979 dealing with motion pictures, the motion picture industry, and motion picture personalities. An invaluable source of primary source material on the history of American film.

Slide, Anthony. The American Film Industry: A Historical Dictionary. New York: Greenwood Press, 1986. Main Stack PN1993.5.U6.S5391 1986

Vincendeau, Ginette. Encyclopedia of European Cinema. New York, NY : Facts on File, c1995.
Doe Reference PN1993.5.E8 V56 1995
Media Resources Center PN1993.5.E8 V56 1995
Main Reference PN1993.5.E8 V56 1995

Organizations

Library Catalogs and Publication Lists

Some of these resources may be limited to UCB users only and may require special steps to connect from off campus.

  • AFI Catalog
    Provides authoritative film credit and production information for American films made from 1893 to 1972. Also includes selective citations to trade and review publications for the individual films indexed in the database.
  • Asian Educational Media Service
    A database of films and videos related to the peoples and cultures of Asia created and maintained by the Center for East Asian and Pacific Studies, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Includes documentary films, feature films, CD-ROMs, and photographic slides.
  • Film Index International
    Indexes almost 100,000 international feature films and shorts, Hollywood entertainment shorts, documentaries, and television movies from all over the world. Includes references to critical and industry articles on films, articles on personalities from approximately 260 international film/TV journals, information about film awards and prizes, and searchable plot summaries with cast and crew lists. This database is produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute.
  • Internet Movie Database
    A database of more than 120,000 movies. Includes biographical records (including complete filmographies) for close to 200,000 individuals involved in international film and television industries. The Glossary includes definitions of terms and phrases frequently used in the world of movies, film, acting, and cinema-going. The Box Office Summary lists the weekly summary of top-grossing US films and also includes a year-to-date archive of top-grossing US films and listings of top-grossing international films. The database also provides links to Top-Grossing Rentals.
  • Margaret Herrick Library (Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences)
    One of the most extensive research collections on the subject of motion pictures. The online catalog includes bibliographic records for the library's holdings of books, periodicals and scripts in the general collection, as well as part of the poster collection and some graphic art materials.
  • National Film Registry
    A roster of American films (features and shorts, documentaries, animated, etc.) that are at least 10 years old and "culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant." List was initiated in 1989; new selections annually. Sponsored by The Library of Congress and the National Film Preservation Board.

Dictionaries (Print)

Basic Film Terms: A Visual Dictionary. [Videotape] Santa Monica, Calif.: Pyramid Films, 1970.
Media Resources Center VIDEO/C 2094

Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory. Edited by Roberta E. Pearson and Philip Simpson. London; New York: Routledge, 2001. Doe Reference PN1993.45 .C75 2001 Media Center PN1993.45 .C75 2001

Case, Christopher. The Ultimate Movie Thesaurus. New York: Henry Holt and Co., 1996.
Media Center PN1998 .C323 1996

Dictionary of Film Terms: The Aesthetic Companion to Film Analysis. Beaver, Frank Eugene. New York: Twayne Publishers; Toronto : Maxwell Macmillan Canada ; New York : Maxwell Macmillan International, 1994. Doe Reference TR847 .B43 1994

Blandford, Steven, et al.The Film Studies Dictionary. London: Arnold; New York: Co-published in the United States of America by Oxford University Press, 2001. Doe Reference PN1993.45 .B49 2001  Media Center PN1993.45 .B49 2001

Konigsberg, Ira. The Complete Film Dictionary. 2nd ed. New York: Penguin Reference, 1997.
Doe Reference PN1993.45 .K66 1997

Mercer, John Glossary of Film Terms. Houston: University Film Association, 1979. Series title: Monograph / University Film Association; no. 2. Doe Reference TR886 .M4 1979

Last Update: 03 Dec 09:57