Electronic Resource Finder
The Electronic Resource Finder is a directory of the Library's databases and other online resources. It is organized by subject (e.g. religious studies), type of material (e.g. dissertations), or title (e.g. Bible in English). It is a useful tool to help you choose the right resources for your particular research needs.
Connecting From Off Campus
UC Berkeley students, faculty and staff can access Library resources from off campus using one of two simple methods:
After you make a one-time change in your web browser settings, the proxy server will ask you to log in with a CalNet ID or Library PIN when you click on the link to a licensed resource. See the setup instructions, FAQ, and Troubleshooting pages to configure your browser.
About the Collection
Religious studies materials are collected in support of the research and teaching needs of those in the UC Berkeley undergraduate Religious Studies program, as well as those in area studies departments, history, literature and other interdisciplinary fields. Scholarly works on all of the world's major religions are collected. Multimedia and electronic materials are as actively acquired as books and journals. Most print materials in religious studies are in the Gardner (Main) Stacks in Doe Library with additional core English language texts in the Moffitt Undergraduate Library. The East Asian Library houses all materials in East Asian languages.
If you'd like to recommend an item to be added to the collection, please use the Purchase Recommendation Form.
The UC Berkeley Library maintains a cooperative collection development policy with the Graduate Theological Union Library, which provides for the sharing of collecting responsibilities for various aspects of religious studies between the two institutions.
Graduate Theological Union Library. 2400 Ridge Rd, Berkeley, CA 94709, 510-649-2500. A consortium library uniting the holdings of nine seminaries. Collection strengths include Christian denominations, theology, practical theology, the Bible, church history and new American religious movements. Collections are available for use by UC Berkeley students with some restrictions. Holdings are listed in the UC System's Melvyl online catalog and the Union's own GRACE catalog.