Ethnic Studies

Supporting the Library

The Library welcomes gifts in all forms. Many private donors have made contributions toward the acquisition of research materials for the use of Berkeley faculty and students. This support is very important in sustaining the excellence of our collections and services.

Read more about how you can support the UC Berkeley Ethnic Studies Library.

The following types of gifts are available to support the Ethnic Studies collections within the Doe and Moffitt Libraries:

Cash Gifts for Book Purchases
Cash contributions of any amount are welcomed and can be made directly to the Library using the online form. In the Special instructions or designations for this gift section, specify that you are supporting the Ethnic Studies collections.

If you prefer to send a check, make it payable to the UC Regents (indicate which collection you are supporting) and mail it to:

Corliss Lee
302 Moffitt Library
University of California
Berkeley, CA  94720-6000

Donations of Materials
Gifts of books and scholarly materials  have historically represented a significant element in the development of our outstanding research collections.  Contact Corliss Lee about the materials you wish to donate.

Memorial and Honorific Gifts
Contributions given in memory or in honor of a person are welcomed. For a gift of $1,000 or more, a named memorial book fund can be established. A special book plate will be created and placed in each book.

Named Endowment

Endowment funds may be established with a gift of $50,000 or more. These funds provide the library with an annual income in perpetuity and have a lasting impact on maintaining a world class collection in of Ethnic Studies. The University invests its endowments carefully to achieve a healthy rate of return that provides for both current needs and long-term growth. A special book plate will be created and placed in each book.

Purchase Recommendation

Purchase Recommendation

You can suggest items that the Library should consider purchasing. Use the Purchase Recommendation form to submit your suggestion.

Doe Library, North Reading Room

About the UC Berkeley Ethnic Studies Collections

The UC Berkeley Library collects at a research level in the subject of Ethnic Studies, which includes: history, literature, political science, etc. These materials are purchased in virtually all languages of the world and represent the ethnicities of people from all corners of the world.

Ethnic Studies collections are located in multiple campus libraries.  Humanities and social sciences materials are located in the Main (Gardner) Stacks, with additional materials in subject specialty libraries such as the Education/Psychology, Social Welfare, Anthropology, Environmental Design, Media Resources Center, etc.  

The Ethnic Studies Library , with its departmental focus, features an Asian American Studies Collection, the Chicano Studies Collection, and a Native American Studies Collection.

The Bancroft Library, in addition to being the UC Berkeley’s manuscript and archival collections, holds materials relevant to American ethnic groups in California, the Western United States and Mexico; see the Western Americana collection description for details.

Start your research with the UCB Library catalog, OskiCat to find the library locations and call numbers of materials for your research.

See also the subject guide for African American Studies.

Campus Library Map

Click on the image below to see a larger interactive version of the campus library map.

UC Berkeley Library campus map

You can also view/download a PDF map of library locations. For library contact information and building addresses, visit our directory.

Library Hours

Hours on: 
Enter as mm/dd/yy 

For: 


To select individual libraries/units, hold down the Ctrl key while clicking.

Doe, Main Stacks, Moffitt Library floorplans

Looking for a location in Doe, Main Stacks or Moffitt?  Try the floorplans, or ask for assistance!