E-book and e-journal collections, full-text online databases, and other digitized or born digital corpa relevant to French Studies are listed below. Consult Article Databases and Indexes under the Research Tools tab to discover articles available in both print and electronic formats.
The Library offers over 130 e-book and text collections in specific subject areas. Many of these e-books also available through OskiCat and Melvyl. You can limit your search in OskiCat to "Available online," and in Melvyl to "Online resources."
- ebrary (all disciplines)
- Humanities E-Book Project (humanities)
- Oxford Scholarship Online (political science, religion, philosophy, physics)
- Springer Electronic Book Package (Melvyl only; sciences and social sciences)
- Complete list...
University of California E-book Projects
Pronounced "hah-tee", this cooperative system contains millions of books scanned from UC and other major research libraries, including those digitized by Google and the Internet Archive. Search on information about the book (such as author or title), or words in the text. Full text is available for items that are not protected by copyright. Items in the HathiTrust catalog can be grouped into collections and shared online. For details, see the FAQ page.
Google Book Search
Books on many subjects, including titles from the UC libraries, digitized in partnership with Google. Full text can be displayed only if the book is out of copyright (generally, published before 1923) or if the copyright holder has given permission.
Internet Archive: Text Archive
Several hundred thousand books in the public domain, from the Open Content Alliance (OCA). Includes many books from our collections.
UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004
1,400 titles on a wide range of subjects from the University of California Press. Includes about 30% of UC Press books, both in and out of print. Books can be viewed but not downloaded.
French Electronic Text Collections
- ATHENA Textes Français
- ClicNet: Littérature francophone virtuelle (Swarthmore)
- Balzac. La Comédie humaine. Édition critique en ligne
- *Calames - online catalogue of archives and manuscripts in French university and research libraires
- Electronic Texts in French (WESSweb)
- *Europeana Regia
- IntraText Digital Library
- Princeton Charette Project
- Roman de la Rose Digital Library (Johns Hopkins & BnF)
- Super-Enlightenment (Stanford)
- Telma (École nationale de Chartes)
ARTFL: American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language
Thousands of fully searchable texts in an array of databases (many freely accessible, others restricted to UC Berkeley students, faculty, and staff). Contents range from classic works of French literature to non-fiction prose and technical writing from the 12th to the 20th centuries.
Base de Francais Medieval
Currently comprises twenty-six complete Old and Middle French texts.
Corpus des oeuvres de philosophie en langue francaise
Contains the works of philosophers writing in the French language from the Renaissance to 1966.
A growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research. Among the participating institutions to this project are the Bancroft Library, the Robbins Collection, and the Hargrove Music Library at UC Berkeley, Columbia University, and the New York Public Library.
Searchable and browseable database offering extensive access to the web of correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the long eighteenth century and their families and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers.
Electronic Text Collections in Western European Literature
Lists literary texts freely available on the Internet in Western European languages other than English. Languages included are: Catalan, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, Galician, German, Greek, Irish, Italian, Latin, Norwegian, Old Norse and Icelandic, Portuguese, Romanian, Provencal, Spanish, Swedish.
Europeana - the European digital library provides direct access to more than 15 million digital objects, including film material, photos, paintings, sounds, maps, manuscripts, books, newspapers and archival papers.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
Contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
A full text searching, retrieving and analysis tool. It helps locate specific words, lemmas and regular expressions in an individual work or corpus. It DOES NOT allow for downloading, printing or reading of the full text. The database comprises approximately 4000 French texts, ranging from classic works of literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. Also available through ARTFL.
The Bibliotheque Nationale de France's digital library provides free electronic access to one of the world's largest collections of digitized books, periodicals, documents, manuscripts, images and audio-visual resources.
A collection of electronically published books selected by the American Historical Association and Columbia University Press. The titles represent a wide range of historical subjects.
Includes records for more than 430 titles from the Incunabula Collection of the Bancroft Library. Printed before 1501, these books reflect the transitional phase between the manuscript and the print traditions.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook
Provides access selected excerpts to sources particularly useful for the teaching of Medieval Studies. Also includes full-texts of medieval sources and a section on ancient, medieval and Byzantine hagiographical sources.
A searchable corpus based upon the Voltaire Foundation Oxford edition of the Complete works of Voltaire. It includes all of Voltaire's literary works.