The Library scheduled workshops are over for this semester -- but I am happy to offer a drop-in workshop for any group of four or more. Just let me know some times that work for you, and we will work something out!
Using APA 6th
The fulltext of APA 6th is not available online, but we do have print copies in the reference collection of the Social Welfare and EdPsych Libraries at BF76.7 P83 2010, and it's available at other libraries on campus as well.
APA Style & Format from Capella Writing Center, is designed to help you quickly understand the fundamentals you need to write a course paper that meets the APA guidelines. It also has a very helpful guide to how to handle those confusing DOIs.
Basics of APA Style -- tutorial from APA on how to how to structure and format your work, reduce bias in language, avoid charges of plagiarism, cite references in text and it provides selected reference examples. The APA Style Blog -- is searchable by topic and contains weekly posts by APA experts .
OxfordBib to RefWorks
NOTE: If you have Zotero installed, but don't want to use it, you need to go into preferences and TURN OFF "Use Zotero to download RIS/Refer Files."
1. Conduct your search and select Save Citation to add article to My OBO list (must create an account first). NOTE: You have to save them one by one, can't batch them.
2. From My OBO, mark the article(s) you want to export and select Export Citations.
3. A new screen will open. Select Reference Manager (not RefWorks!).
4. Save file as (.ris) file
5. Close, don't open yet!
6. Log in to RefWorks. Select References/Import from the toolbar.
6.. Select RIS Format as the data source (you may have to SCROLL DOWN the list to find it!) Select Reference Manager as the database and Browse to find the file you saved to your computer. Click Import.
7. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.
Thanks to the University of Waterloo Library for these instructions!
Citation Management Tools
Citation management tools help you manage your research, collect and cite sources, and create bibliographies in a variety of citation styles. Each one has its strengths and weaknesses, but any are easier than doing it by hand! The Library offers workshops on Endnote, Zotero, and Refworks! Or contact your librarian for individual help.
- Zotero: A free plug-in that works with the Firefox browser, or with other browsers via a standalone version: keeps copies of what you find on the web, permits tagging, notation, full text searching of your library of resources, works with Word, and has a free web backup service (for up to 300 mb). The library has created this handy guide to using Zotero.
- RefWorks - free for UC Berkeley users. It allows you to create your own database by importing references and using them for footnotes and bibliographies. Use the RefWorks New User Form to sign up.
- EndNote: may be purchased from UC Berkeley's Software Central for about $80.
It's always good to double check the formatting -- sometimes the software doesn't get it quite right.
RefWorks with Oskicat
Search OskiCat. Once you have records you want to export, if you are:
A. Viewing a list of results, check the box to the left of each record you wish to add to RefWorks, then click Save Selected Records, or
B. Viewing an individual record, click the Save Records button near the top of the window and then:
- Click the View Saved button near the top of the window
- Click Export Saved
- Select EndNote/RefWorks under Format of List
- Select Screen under Send List To
- Click Submit
- Use your browser’s Select All function, then Copy
- Open another browser window and access your RefWorks Account.
- Click References from the drop-down menu and select Import
- In the drop-down menu next to Import Filter/Data Source, choose Innovative Interfaces (EndNote/RefWorks Format)
- For Database, choose University of California, Berkeley
- In Import References into Folder, choose the desired folder, if you have already created a folder into which you want these references to import. If not, make no selection here
- Click Import
- Select the radio button next to Import Data from the following Text.
- Put your cursor in the box below Import Data from the following Text and select Edit > Paste in your browser.
- By default, all newly imported references appear in the Last Imported folder. Under View / Folders, select your folder to see the citations you just imported. Note the UC-eLinks icon next to each reference.
Thanks to the Public Health Library for creating this guide!