OskiCatMelvylCompendexINSPECPubMedWeb of ScienceOff-Campus Access
Ask Us:e-mailIMphone

E 190 Guide to Business Sources

Bookmark and Share

Contents:

PowerPoint Presentation:

PowerPoint Presentation:
http://docs.google.com/EmbedSlideshow?docid=dcbqssrp_5m5qz46gf

Off-Campus Access

Off-campus access to licensed library resources such as journal articles and databases requires changes in your browser's settings that allow you to connect through a proxy server.
» Instructions on setting up access

Return to top

Basic Print Resources

Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys is an excellent standard source for gaining a basic understanding of how large-scale industries operate. This set of books is in print at Call Number HC101.S77 in the Business Library's Reference section.

The Market Share Reporter is an annual compilation for market share data on companies, products, and services. It is also in the Business Library's Reference section at Call Number HF5410.M35.

Return to top

Databases

For your assignment, you will need to find both company and industry information. Some of our resources contain only company information, some contain only industry information, and some contain both. Use the following chart to assist you in choosing which databases will be most helpful for your topic. We have bolded the databases that have previously been the most helpful for E190 students. For off-campus access to library resources, go to Connecting from Off Campus.

Business Source Complete  UCB access only
Includes company profiles for more than 10,000 global companies, including some private companies. Includes Datamonitor reports.
Tip: Click on the Company Profiles or Industry Profiles link to browse a list.
Coverage: Industry information, company information for public, private, and international companies. Also includes news and press releases.
Tutorial: movie (approx. 3mm:0ss)

Business and Industry  UCB access only
Full-text articles from quality industry resources.
Tips:

Coverage: Industry information, company information for public, private, and international companies. Also includes news and press releases.

Factiva  UCB access only
Full-text business news and information. Best source for very recent information about companies, industries, and financial markets.
Coverage: Industry information, company information for public, private, and international companies. Also includes news and press releases.

Hoover's Online  UCB access only
Best starting point for most public and private companies.
Coverage: Industry information, company information for public, private, and international companies.

IBIS World Industry Market Research  UCB access only
Provides research reports on over 702 U.S. industries. Includes statistics and detailed analysis of key growth trends, the competitive environment, and key issues facing each industry.
Coverage: Industry information.

LexisNexis Academic  UCB access only
Full-text newspaper articles. Also provides significant business information from other full-text resources.
Tip: Switch from the News search form to the Business search form.
Coverage: Industry information, company information for public, private, and international companies. Also includes news and press releases.

MarketResearch Academic  UCB access only
Full-text market research reports including the heavy industries, life sciences, and technology.
Coverage: Industry information.

Mergent  UCB access only
Excellent source of information about public companies.
Tip: Click on the Industry Reports tab to access them.
Coverage: Industry information, company information for public and international companies.

Thomson Research Investext  UCB access only
Database of research reports on public companies compiled by stock and bond analysts at major brokerages worldwide. Includes SEC filings, annual reports, and market research reports.
Coverage: Industry information, company information for public companies.

Return to top

SIC/NAICS Codes

SIC (U.S. Standard Industry Classification)/NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) codes are classification codes that are assigned to industries. Often it is useful to browse or use the codes to find industry information.
» NAICS Codes
» SIC Codes
» SIC/NAICS Bridge

Return to top

Business Plans

Consult these excellent sources for information, advice, and examples of business plans.

Sample Business Plans from the MOOT Corp Business Plan Competition at UT Austin
Free sample business plans online. These plans were submitted by MBA students around the world for a Business Plan competition at the University of Texas at Austin, and judged by investors.

Business Plans Handbook: A Compilation of Actual Business Plans Developed by Small Businesses Throughout North America.
Detroit, MI : Gale Research, Inc. 10 volumes.
HD62.7.B865 Business Library Reference

Short Course in International Business Plans: Charting a Strategy for Success in Global Commerce.
Novato, CA: World Trade Press.
HD30.28.B7817 2003 Business Library

For more online and print resources consult the Guide on Business Plans prepared by the Business librarians.

Return to top

Getting Help in the Library

Engineering Library:

Business Library:
The Business Library is located in the Haas School of Business, Student Services Wing, on Levels 2 and 3.
Phone: (510) 642-0370

Return to top

Instant Message (IM)


Kresge Engineering Library