OskiCatMelvylCompendexINSPECPubMedWeb of ScienceOff-Campus Access
Ask Us:e-mailIMphone

Guide for ME/BioE C117: Structural Aspects of Biomaterials

Bookmark and Share

Contents:

Off-Campus Access

Off-campus access to licensed library resources such as journal articles and databases requires changes in your browser's settings that allow you to connect through a proxy server.
» Instructions on setting up access

Return to top

Article Databases

Journal articles and conference papers are the primary means of disseminating research in engineering. Use article databases to find articles and papers relevant to your research.

PubMed  UCB access only
Coverage: 1947–present
Medicine, life sciences, health administration.
» Guide: HTML, PDF

Web of Science  UCB access only
Coverage: 1900–present
Article database covering the core journals in all scholarly fields. Provides cited reference searching.
» Tutorial: HTML and Guide: HTML, PDF

SciFinder Scholar  UCB access only
Coverage: 1907–present
The online index of Chemical Abstracts, including journals, conferences and patents; more than 9,000 journals.

To access other article databases, consult our complete list of Article Databases.

Locating Full Text Online or in the Library: Many article databases offer the UC-eLinks service, providing links to full-text articles online and automated library catalog searches. If these links fail, you can search for the journal title or conference name yourself in OskiCat.

Return to top

Background – Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Use these encyclopedias, handbooks, books, and web data sources to find background information or a review on a topic. These are also good for finding properties and specifications of materials.

CRCnetBASE  UCB access only
See Chapter 45 of Volume 1, Biomedical Engineering Fundamentals (PDF), for a discussion of bone and joint implants. It's available online as well as in print.

The Biomedical Engineering Handbook  UCB access only
3rd ed. Joseph D. Bronzino, ed. CRC Press/Taylor & Francis, 2006.
Engineering R856.15.B56 2006 (v. 1–3)

ENGnetBASE contains hundreds of books in all areas of engineering, including about 50 titles in bioengineering and biomedical engineering. Search using keywords, or browse the table of contents of the titles.

ASM Handbooks  UCB access only

Biomaterials and Bioengineering Handbook. Donald L. Wise.
R857.M3 B57 2000

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics  UCB access only

CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook  UCB access only
3rd ed. CRC Press, 2002.
TA403.4.C74 2001 Reference
Full text on ENGnetBASE  UCB access only

Encyclopedia of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering  UCB access only
Vols. 1 and 2. Gary E. Wnek, Gary L. Bowlin, eds. Marcel Dekker, 2004.
R857.M3E63 2004 Reference

The Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology  UCB access only
K.H. Jurgen Buschow, ed. Amsterdam; New York : Elsevier, 2001.

Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body

Handbook of Biomaterial Properties UCB access only
Edited by Jonathan Black and Garth Hastings.
R857.M3.H36 1998 Reference

Knovel  UCB access only
This is a very large database of books that includes older classic works, as well as new titles from many publishers.

Polymers: A Property Database  UCB access only

Find more Electronic Books, or find printed titles in the Engineering Library stacks under call numbers QH, R856, R857, and RD755.5.

Return to top

Patents

United States Patent and Trademark Office
Search U.S. patents issued from 1790–present.

Google Patent Search
Search patents issued from 1790 to mid-2006. Patents are viewable in PDF.

LexisNexis Academic — Patent Search  UCB access only
Search U.S., European, and Japanese patents.

More patent resources

Return to top

FDA Resources

The United States Food and Drug Administration provides specialized resources for finding national standards and guidelines for medical devices.

U.S. Food and Drug Administration — Center for Devices and Radiological Health

FDA Guidance Database
Database of FDA Good Guidance Practice documents, which includes explanations of design, production, manufacturing, and testing of regulated products and devices.

FDA MAUDE Database
Searchable database of adverse reports of medical devices.

FDA Medical Device Recall Database
Searchable database of recalled medical devices.

Return to top

Finding Electronic Journals

This is a selected list of electronic journals covering biomaterials. For other titles, search the Electronic Journals database. If you don't find the title there, search OskiCat.

Return to top

Managing Your Citations

Bibliographic management packages allow you to import citations from online article databases, organize these citations in a personal database, automatically format them within papers, and create instant bibliographies in a variety of styles.

Related Guides:
» Managing Citations and Documents
» RefWorks Tips for Engineering Databases
» EndNote Tips for Engineering Databases

Return to top

Plagiarism and Citing Sources

Plagiarism

Plagiarism is defined as use of intellectual material produced by another person without acknowledging its source, for example:

University of California, Berkeley, Office of Student Life, Definitions of Academic Dishonesty, Plagiarism.

University of California, Berkeley, Campus Code of Student Conduct (PDF).

Cite your sources to:

How to Cite Sources

In science and engineering, there are various citation styles, usually specified by the publisher of the journal or book. It is always acceptable to use the citation style of a main journal in your field of research. Some publishers' websites contain instructions and examples of the citation style they use. A citation must contain the information that will allow another person to easily find the document.

A typical article citation contains these elements:

[author(s) name(s)]. [article title]. [abbreviated journal title] [year];[volume number]:[beginning page number-ending page number]

Example:
Ebenstein DM, Pruitt LA. Nanoindentation of soft hydrated materials for application to vascular tissues. J Biomed Mater Res A 2004;69:222-232.

Return to top

How Do I Get Help in the Library?

Return to top

Instant Message (IM)


Kresge Engineering Library